Origins OF The Picardy Drive neighborhood
Originally called Normandy Gardens, the homes on Picardy Drive were built beginning in 1926 by R.C. Hillen and designed by architect Walter Dixon. The block's 71 mostly-stucco homes, built on a 10-acre plot, contain English- and French-style Normandy homes influenced by Old World architecture.
Without being showy, many of Picardy Drive's homes incorporate castle-like elements in miniature, such as rounded towers and crenellated parapets. The street is renowned for its neighborliness and annual Christmas light showcase, with a public tree lighting celebration and "friendship lights" that connect houses each-to-the-next on the lane.