Machine Learning in Speech and Language Processing Workshop

MLSLP Workshop

MLSLP is a recurring workshop, often joint with machine learning or speech/NLP conferences. Prior workshops were held in 2011, 2012, 2016 and 2017. While research in speech and language processing has always involved machine learning (ML), current research is benefiting from even closer interaction between these fields. Speech and language processing is continually mining new ideas from ML and ML, in turn, is devoting more interest to speech and language applications.

This workshop aims to be a venue for identifying and incubating the next waves of research directions for interaction and collaboration. The workshop will discuss the emerging research ideas with potential for impact in speech/language and bring together relevant researchers from ML and speech/language who may not regularly interact at conferences.

MLSLP is a workshop of SIGML, the SIG on machine learning in speech and language processing of ISCA (the International Speech Communication Association).

Shrikanth Narayanan, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Southern California, USA

Odette Scharenborg, Associate Professor, Multimedia Computing Group, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands

Yuxuan Wang, Senior Research Scientist, Google Research

Partha Pratim Talukdar, Assistant Professor, Indian Institute of Science, India

Sunita Sarawagi, Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Bombay, India

RSVP to the workshop here

Update 7/27/2018: We are no longer accepting registrations for the workshop. Authors of accepted papers will be invited to register once all review decisions have been made.

Important Dates

July 2, 2018 July 9, 2018 Extended abstracts due

July 16, 2018 July 23, 2018 July 27, 2018 Notification of acceptance

August 6, 2018 Final revised abstract deadline

July 30, 2018 Registration deadline (free!)

Sept 7, 2018 Workshop!

Organizing Committee

Preethi Jyothi (general chair) Indian Institute of Technology Bombay

Rohit Prabhavalkar (general chair) Google Inc.

Liang Lu (program chair) Microsoft Inc.

Tara Sainath (program chair) Google Inc.

Negar Saei (local organizer) Google Inc.

Scientific Committee

Yossi Adi / Bar-Ilan University

Ebru Arisoy / MEF University

Nancy Chen / Institute for Infocomm Research, A*STAR

Sriram Ganapathy / Indian Institute of Science

Mark Hasegawa-Johnson / UIUC

Yanzhang (Ryan) He / Google Inc.

Karen Livescu / TTI Chicago

Michael Mandel / Brooklyn College CUNY

Vimal Manohar / Johns Hopkins University

Petr Motlicek / Idiap Research Institute

Arun Narayanan / Google Inc.

Anton Ragni / University of Cambridge

Hao Tang / MIT

We thank Google for their generous support in the organization of the workshop.

For any questions regarding the workshop, please contact