Carousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel image

League of Women Voters
Rochester, Minnesota

League Events


  • January 25, 2022 from 7:00 - 8:30 pm virtual program
    Medical Aid in Dying - The Outlook in Minnesota

    Dr Rebecca Thoman is a Minnesota physician, long-time LWV Minneapolis member, and is associated with Doctors For Dignity and Compassion & Choices. Legislative campaigns for medical aid in dying are gaining momentum across the nation. Ten states and the District of Columbia currently authorize the practice. Modeled after Oregon’s Death with Dignity law, the Minnesota End-of-Life Option Act would authorize medical aid in dying so that terminally ill Minnesotans of sound mind may ask for and receive prescribed medication they could choose to self-administer for a peaceful death. Rebecca will share the LWV Utah 2016 Death with Dignity study and an addendum that includes updated and additional information from between 2016 and 2020. She will discuss a recent related study conducted by the Minneapolis LWV on this very important topic.

    Join on
    Zoom with this link

  • February 5, 2022 from 10:00 - 11:30 am virtual program
    Impact on Issues: Public Policy Positions of the US LWV
    (for LWV Rochester members and guests; only members will vote)

    Please join LWV Rochester members for an informative session to familiarize us with policy positions of the national League of Women Voters. The League has always cared about policy issues and have used our voice both to educate and to advocate for our positions. Members of the Rochester League can pursue our advocacy with these positions in our local work.

    This year, LWV US will hold its national convention. We will discuss the positions contained in the
    national document Impact on Issues: 2020-2022. We will examine a range of subjects in brief: a simplified review of consensus statements adopted after extensive discussion over the years. This document covers the policy decisions made since the 1960s, and we can address any questions you may have on history or details not appearing in the summary.

    We will also discuss the Minnesota League’s efforts underway to review their positions in depth, and to consider proposed amendments. Join us!

    Join on Zoom with this link

  • February 9, 2022 from 7:00 - 8:30 pm virtual program
    How the Court System Can Protect Youth in Our Community

    Join in a conversation about how our court system protects youth, led by Judge Deb Jacobson, a retired senior judge from Rochester. Judge Jacobson worked for the county attorney's office from 1981 - 1993, working with criminal cases as well as social services. She was appointed to the bench in 1993, where she then served for 23 years. Judge Jacobson will discuss the process of electing vs. appointing judges, and then share various ways in which youth interact with our judicial system. She will share various ways in which the courts protect the rights of youth, as well as how the system has grown to better meet their needs.

    Join on Zoom with this link

Voting Information - League of Women Voters. Since 2006 this site is has been a "one-stop-shop" for election related-information, providing nonpartisan information on general and state-specific elections, including:

  • Voter registration deadlines and registration forms

  • Absentee ballots and early voting options

  • Election dates, polling place locations, ID requirements

  • Sample ballots specific to your address

  • Factual data on candidates in federal, state and local races

  • Tips on how to watch candidate forums and debates with a critical eye

Olmsted County Elections Office link

  • Call the Elections Office at (507) 328-7650 if you have questions or problems with voting - Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State

Voting & Elections page - Rochester Public Library

Contact the Rochester LWV

P.O. Box 6691
Rochester, Minnesota 55903

Click this link to for a printable member brochure to join or renew your League membership (local, state, & national) or to make a donation.


  • President - Anna Froehling

  • Past President - Jane Callahan

  • Secretary - Jane Callahan

  • Treasurer - Ginny Amundson

  • Nominating Committee - Karen MacLaughlin

  • Directors At-Large: Amy Caucutt, Deb Duffy-Smet, Mary E. Jones, Kim Norton, Walt Rothwell, Ray Schmitz, Dee Voldal

Carousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel imageCarousel image