History of Lee’s Bar-B-Q
Lee’s Bar-B-Q opened in 1938 as owners Bob and Ray Lee worked for decades to build it into a local icon. When recent owner Robbie Lee began to experience health problems, he had to give up running the family business, much to his regret. A mural painted by Margaret Maria on the west wall pays tribute to Ray and Bob’s hard work and dedication.
The Mattorano brothers bought the business on May 9th 2012, along with the chili and Bar-B-Q recipes that the Lee family made famous. About six weeks before it was ready to re-open on June 24th 2012. A lot of hard work needed to be done to get the restaurant ready. New booth’s, a fresh paint job and new menu options transforming it from its traditional role as a burger and barbecue joint to a fine family restaurant.
For a lot of its customers though, that doesn’t make much difference, because they park outside the restaurant, honk their horns, place their orders and then eat in their cars, just as they have for generations at one of Trinidad’s classic eateries.