SenseApp 2009

SenseApp 2009 Technical Program

Tuesday, 20 October 2009

TPC Co-Chairs:

  • Salil Kanhere, University of New South Wales
  • Kay Roemer, ETH Zurich

09:00 – 10:00 Session 1: Keynote Address

  • Experiences from three years of developing and operating the PermaSense wireless sensor network for harsh mountain environments. Dr. Stephan Gruber, University of Zurich, Switzerland

10:30 – 12:00 Session 2: Applications and Hardware (Chair: Dirk Westhoff, HAW Hamburg, Germany)

  • Camera traps as sensor networks for monitoring animal communities. Roland Kays, New York State Museum, USA, Bart Kranstauber, Max Planck Institute, Germany, Patrick Jansen, Max Planck Institute, Germany, Chris Carbone, Institute of Zoology, Zoological Society of London, UK, Marcus Rowcliffe, Institute of Zoology, Zoological Society of London, UK, Tony Fountain, University of California at San Diego, USA, Sameer Tilak, University of California at San Diego, USA
  • A demonstration of wireless sensing for long-term monitoring of water quality. Fiona Regan, Dublin City University, Ireland, Antoin Lawlor, Dublin City University, Ireland, Brendan O'Flynn, Tyndall National Institute, Ireland, Rafael Matinez-Catala, Tyndall National Institute, Ireland, S. Harte, Tyndall National Institute, Ireland, C. O'Mathuna, Tyndall National Institute, Ireland, John Wallace, Intelligent Data Systems, Ireland
  • On the feasibility of using servo-mechanisms in wireless multimedia sensor network deployments. Damien O'Rourke, CSIRO, Australia, Raja Jurdak, CSIRO, Australia, Junbin Liu, Queensland University of Technology, Australia, Darren Moore, CSIRO, Australia, Tim Wark, CSIRO, Australia

13:00 – 15:00 Session 3: Operating Systems and Security (Chair: Philip Bonnet, University of Copenhagen, Denmark)

  • A real-time kernel for wireless sensor networks employed in rescue scenarios. Heiko Will, Freie Universität Berlin, Germany, Kaspar Schleiser, Freie Universität Berlin, Germany, Jochen Schiller, Freie Universität Berlin, Germany
  • Tiny15four: A portable, yet efficient 802.15.4 stack. Philippe Bonnet, University of Copenhagen, Denmark, Jan Flora, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Security enhanced multi-hop over the air reprogramming with fountain codes. Jens-Matthias Bohli, NEC Europe, Germany, Dirk Westhoff, HAW Hamburg, Germany, Alban Hessler, NEC Europe, Germany, Osman Ugus, NEC Europe, Germany
  • Key agreement with low-end devices. Dirk Westhoff, HAW Hamburg, Germany, Frederik Armknecht, Ruhr-Universität, Germany

15:30 – 17:00 Session 4: Experimentation and Evaluations (Chair: Matthias Hollick, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany)

  • Controllable radio interference for experimental and testing purposes in wireless sensor networks. Carlo Alberto Boano, Swedish Institute of Computer Science, Sweden, Zhitao He, Swedish Institute of Computer Science, Sweden, Yafei Li, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden, Thiemo Voigt, Swedish Institute of Computer Science, Sweden, Marco Zuniga, National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland, Andreas Willig, Technical University of Berlin, Germany
  • On the energy efficiency of lossless data compression in wireless sensor networks. Andreas Reinhardt, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany, Delphine Christin, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany, Matthias Hollick, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany, Ralf Steinmetz, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany
  • Evaluation of IPv6 over low-power wireless personal area networks implementations. Iyad Tumar, Jacobs University Bremen, Germany, Juergen Schoenwaelder, Jacobs University Bremen, Germany