GETCO 2018

September 10-14, 2018

Oaxaca, Mexico

The GETCO conference series focus on applications of algebraic topology in computer science with special emphasis in concurrency, distributed computing, networking and other situations related to systems of sequential computers that communicate with each other. It is aimed at mathematicians and computer scientists working in or interested in these subjects, including researchers and graduate students. The aim of the conference is to exchange ideas and to initiate or expand research collaborations.

Special emphasis will be on topological methods in


Distributed Computing

Directed algebraic topology

Neural networks


Wireless networks

Data analysis

History- 10th Anniversary celebration of GETCO !

The first GETCO conference was in Aalborg in 1999. Applications of algebraic topology in computer science was a new subject and the following seven GETCO workshops were held as satellites to CONCUR or DISC, the main conferences on concurrency and distributed computing. The 2010 GETCO workshop had a broader scope and included other applications of algebraic topology. Since then, a new ESF network ACAT, Applied and Computational Algebraic Topology, has been established; one of many indications that applications of algebraic topology is now a mature subject, widespread and with impact in many fields.


A special issue of the Journal of Applied and Computational Topology will be dedicated to selected papers from the conference.

Tutorials (Starting Monday September 10)

Program (TBA)

Abstracts (TBA)

Information for participantes (TBA)


The main conference will be Tuesday September 11 to Friday September 14

Monday September 10 we are planning to have introductory tutorials.


Hotel Victoria, city of Oaxaca, Mexico.

Some events will be in the beautiful Bibioteca Burgoa, in Santo Domingo Cultural Center.

The city of Oaxaca is the capital of the state of Mexico with the same name, in the south of the country. The city (and Oaxaca state), is famous for its large variety of pre-hispanic cultures, handcrafts, archeological sites, beautiful mountains and beaches, and its exquisite cuisine. It is easily reached from Mexico City either by very comfortable (and inexpensive) first class buses, or airplane. The airport of Oaxaca is approximately 7 km south of the city centre with several flights from Mexico City every day, and from other cities in Mexico.


Please send an email to Alma Diaz with the following information:

  • Name, email, affiliation
  • Arrival and departure dates
  • Would you like to give a talk or to present a poster? If so, please indicate the title.(We will ask for abstracts later)
  • Dietary restrictions
  • We have limited funds to cover lunches and hotel expenses, please indicate if you would like to apply for support.
  • There are no registration fees, but we have limited capacity in the auditorium, we will respond registration requests as soon as possible.



Armando Castañeda, David Flores, Rolando Jiménez, Sergio Rajsbaum


Armando Castañeda, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico.

Dmitry Feichtner-Kozlov, University of Bremen, Germany.

Eric Goubault, École Polytechnique, France.

Maurice Herlihy, Brown University, USA.

Ran Levi, University of Aberdeen, UK.

Martin Raussen, Aalborg University, Denmark.

Confirmed speakers

  • Alexandru Baltag, ILLC, Universiteit van Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Gunnar Carlsson, Stanford, USA
  • Armando Castañeda, UNAM, Mexico
  • Ulrich Fahrenberg, École Polytechnique, France
  • Lisbeth Fajstrup, Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Michael Farber, Queen Mary, University of London, UK
  • Brittany Terese Fasy, Montana State University, USA
  • Dmitry Feichtner-Kozlov, University of Bremen, Germany
  • Patrizio Frosini, Università di Bologna, Italy
  • Robert Ghrist, University of Pennsylvania, USA
  • Chad Giusti, University of Delaware, USA
  • Rob van Glabbeek, NICTA, Australia
  • José Carlos Gómez Larrañaga, CIMAT, Mexico
  • Jesus Gonzalez, CINVESTAV, Mexico
  • Eric Goubault, École Polytechnique, France
  • Vladimir Itskov, Pennsylvania State University, USA
  • Thomas Kahl, Universidade do Minho, Portugal
  • Ran Levi, University of Aberdeen, UK
  • Roy Meshulam, Technion, Israel
  • Samuel Mimram, École Polytechnique, France
  • Luis Montejano, UNAM, Mexico
  • Neza Mramor Kosta, Univ. Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • Jose Perea, Michigan State University, USA
  • Sergio Rajsbaum, UNAM, Mexico
  • Martin Raussen, Aalborg University
  • Pablo Soberón, Northeastern University, USA
  • Gard Spreemann, EPFL, Switzerland
  • Philipp Woelfel, University of Calgary, Canada
  • Krzysztof Ziemiański, University of Warsaw, Poland

Feel free to post and distribute the following poster, the pdf is here

We are very grateful for the support of