Susan B. Clark Administrative Leadership Award

In 2007, Duke University and Duke University Health System created the Susan B. Clark Administrative Leadership Award to honor Susan Clark's remarkable career at Duke. This award is given to a Duke administrative professional who demonstrates qualities such as dedication to the institution, service to others, and personal strength of character, all of which Susan Clark exemplified. These qualities enabled Susan to rise through the ranks from an entry-level position to working within the Office of the Chancellor developing Strategic Partnerships with executive leadership, making her a role model for support staff across the Duke Campus. By giving this award, we honor Susan's contributions and recognize her legacy, which will continue to inspire others for decades to come.​ 

This year's recipient, Nathalia Davis, is the perfect example of a true leader within the Duke Administrative Professional Community. Nathalia is the Executive Assistant to Rhonda Brandon, the Chief Human Resources Officer and Senior Vice President for the DUHS and has been a part of the Duke Family for the past 15 years.

 ​​​​Celebrating the Previous Award Recipients

Gloria Johnson Bass, School of Medicine - 2022

​Marsha Newby, Department of Pediatrics - 2020

Trena Martelon, Department of Pharmacology & Cancer Biology - 2019 

Teresa Jenkins, School of Nursing - 2017

Laverne Myers, School of Nursing - 2016

Mary Greenway, School of Medicine - 2015

Anna Brodeur, School of Medicine - 2014

Kelly Macklin, School of Medicine - 2013

Debra S. Harris, Department of Pathology - 2012

Willa B. Bonner, Duke University Health System - 2011

Tammy Tuck, Duke University Health System - 2010 

Cindy Day, School of Medicine - 2009

Sarah Woodard, Duke University Health System - 2008

Suzy Johnson, Duke University Health System - 2007

Nomination & Selection Process​

Nominations can be made by any ​​​Duke University or Duke University Health employee​ (self nomination allowed with supporting documents). ​Award recipients will be selected by a committee appo​​​​inted by the Chief Human Resources Officer for Duke University Health System.

To submit a nomination, please complete the nomination form at

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for the Susan B. Clark Administrative Leadership Award, an individual should represent the diversity of the Duke Health community and must meet the following criteria:​

Selection Criteria

All nominations must provide examples of how the nominee has demonstrated the following:

​​​​​​​​​Internal and/or external service to others which ​​may include non-profit organizations, schools, religious organizations, mentoring, and teaching and ​​​​​include but not limited to volunteering, teaching, and mentoring​​

​​​Dedication to the institution

​​​​Personal strength of character

​​​Acting as a role model to others

The Winner and Nominees

The winner of this award and nominees will be recognized during an event hosted by Chancellor Eugene Washington and attended by the winner's Duke Health colleagues, their supervisor and nominator, and a guest of their choice. This event will take place in April 2023.  All nominees who meet the award's eligibility criteria receive a bound version of ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​his/her nomination packet. Previous award recipients are no eligible to be nominated for this award.

 Please review the eligibility criteria and nomination process below. 

Photos from the 

2021-2022 Susan B. Clark Administrative Leadership Award Luncheon

Video of the 

2021-2022 Susan B. Clark Administrative Leadership Award Luncheon