Calculus Instruction in Atlantic Canada Conference 2019

Bridging the Gap: High School & University Mathematics

May 24-25, 2019: Mount Saint Vincent University, Halifax, NS

This two-day workshop is an opportunity for high school and university calculus instructors from across Atlantic Canada to come together and engage in discussions regarding curriculum covered in high school and university, challenges and triumphs, teaching tools and teaching technologies used, and how we can support students as they transition from high school to university mathematics classes.

Each morning we will have speakers and in the afternoons there will be workshops and discussion groups based on the theme of the conference. We will also have 'furious five' talks on the last day, should attendees wish to have five minutes to share a teaching observation or activity with the group.

Friday Plenary Speaker: Dr. Philip M. Sadler, Harvard University

Dr. Sadler is a F.W. Wright Senior Lecturer in the Department of Astronomy and Director, Science Education Department at Harvard University. Some of his research interests are success in pre-college and introductory college STEM coursework, assessment and test construction, and the enhancement of the skills of teachers of science.

Saturday Plenary Speaker: Atlantic Canada High School Educators Panel:

  • Erick Lee: Mathematics Support Consultant for the Halifax Regional Centre for Education
  • Jocelyn Procopio: Department Head Citadel High School, Halifax, Nova Scotia
  • Denise Simms: Mathematics Teacher, Ascension Collegiate, Bay Roberts, Newfoundland
  • Rolyne Butler: Mathematics Teacher, Kennebecasis Valley High School, Rothesay, New Brunswick

When: May 24th & May 25th, 2019

Where: Mount Saint Vincent University, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Registration: You can email Danielle Cox ( to register, indicating if you wish to give a "furious five" talk. The registration fee will be $40 to be paid through Eventbrite by clicking here.

Organizing Committee:

  • Danielle Cox - Mount Saint Vincent University
  • Rebecca McKay - University of New Brunswick Saint John
  • Caroline Cochran - Acadia University
  • Eva Curry - Acadia University
  • Tara Taylor - St. Francis Xavier University

Last year's conference website:

Thank you to our sponsors: