13-17 June 2022

Barcelona Conference on
Higher Structures

Universitat de Barcelona
Organised in partnership with the Clay Mathematics Institute

Homotopical and higher-categorical methods are becoming increasingly important in areas such as geometry, topology, algebra, mathematical physics, and lately also logic and computer science. The insight can be summarized in realizing that many deep problems in these areas and elsewhere are homotopical in nature, and that native homotopical tools are necessary for a natural treatment of them as well as for obtaining viable solutions that can serve as a basis for further developments.

This conference aims at gathering experts from several related areas equivariant, motivic, and chromatic homotopy, topological field theories, infinity categories, operadic calculus and homotopical algebras, graph homology and Grothendieck–Teichmüller groups, derived analytic geometry, elliptic cohomologyin order to foster new results and stimulate young researchers.


Julie Bergner (University of Virginia)
Lukas Brantner (Orsay and Oxford)

Tim Campion (Johns Hopkins University)
Joana Cirici (Universitat de Barcelona)
Tobias Dyckerhoff (Universität Hamburg)
Rune Haugseng (NTNU Trondheim)
Najib Idrissi (Université de Paris)

Anibal Medina-Mardones (MPIM Bonn)

Tasos Moulinos (Université de Toulouse)
Fernando Muro (Universidad de Sevilla)
Viktoriya Ozornova (MPIM Bonn)

Dan Petersen (Stockholms universitet)

Victor Roca i Lucio (Université Sorbonne Paris Nord)

Nick Rozenblyum (University of Chicago)
Sarah Scherotzke (Université du Luxembourg)
Bertrand Toën (Université de Toulouse)

Tashi Walde (Technische Universität München)
Thomas Willwacher (ETH Zürich)

Scientific Coordinators

Carles Casacuberta (Universitat de Barcelona)
David Gepner (Johns Hopkins University)
Joachim Kock (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona)
Bruno Vallette (Université Sorbonne Paris Nord)

Organising Committee

Carles Broto (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona)
Carles Casacuberta
(Universitat de Barcelona)
Imma Gálvez (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya)
David Gepner (Johns Hopkins University)
Javier J. Gutiérrez (Universitat de Barcelona)
Joachim Kock (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona)
Andrew Tonks (Universidad de Málaga)
Bruno Vallette (Université Sorbonne Paris Nord)