Australasian Web Conference (AWC) 2019

29 – 31 January 2019, Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia

About AWC

The relentless growth in Internet functionality and broadband access has enabled a new wave of innovations that are transforming the way people and organisations interact, communicate, and collaborate. The fifth Australasian Web Conference (AWC) focuses on presenting original contributions on research, development, and applications, related to all fields of Web research.

AWC is part of the Australasian Computer Science Week (ACSW). Registration to the Australasian Computer Science Conference enables delegates to attend sessions in any conference participating in ACSW. The proceedings will be included in the ACM digital library and indexed on Scopus and DBLP.

The World Wide Web continues to play a transformative role in all walks of life. It also provides a platform for exciting and innovative research on a wide range of themes. AWC 2019 aims to bring together researchers and PhD students who work on topics related to the Web in an effort to highlight the state-of-the-art, to discuss critical issues and opportunities, and to explore new research directions.

Selected papers will be published in the following Special Issues:


  • Semantic Web
  • Linked open data
  • Crowdsourcing
  • Web mining
  • Deep Web
  • Emerging Web techniques
  • Information retrieval
  • Interfaces and accessibility
  • Interoperability and heterogeneous systems
  • Mobile Web
  • Performance, scalability and availability
  • Personalisation and recommender systems
  • Security and privacy
  • Social networks and communities
  • Social Web and analytics
  • Mashups
  • Web of things
  • Web search
  • Service Web, Web services, and service-oriented computing
  • XML and semi-structured data management

Important Dates

Wednesday, 19 September 2018: submissions close

Monday, 15 October 2018: Author notifications distributed

Monday, 29 October 2018: CORE student travel award applications close

Friday, 9 November 2018: Camera-ready copy due

Friday, 30 November 2018: Early bird registration closes

Tuesday, 29 January 2019 – Thursday 31 January 2019: Conferences dates

General Chair

Yan Wang, Macquarie University

Programme Chairs

Qiang He, Swinburne University of Technology

Guanfeng Liu, Macquarie University

Shuiguang Deng, Zhejiang University

Paper Format & Submission

Accepted papers of AWC will be in the ACSW Proceedings and published by ACM this year. Papers should be formatted according to ACM conference paper formatting guidelines ACM SIG Proceedings Templates. Submissions must be in English. A paper must clearly state the problem being addressed, the goal of the work, the results achieved, and the relation to other work.

Papers should be submitted electronically in PDF format via the ACSW EasyChair submission site, Once you log in EasyChair system, click on the “new submission” button, then all the satellite conferences and workshops are in the following page. The authors have to choose appropriate satellite conferences or workshops for your papers.

Submissions must not exceed 10 pages for full papers and 4 pages for short papers. Submissions must be original contributions that have not been published previously, nor already submitted to other conferences or journals in parallel with this conference. Each submission will be peer reviewed by at least three program committee members.

Programme Committee

  • Young Choon Lee, Macquarie University
  • M. Reza Hoseinyfarahabady, University of Sydney
  • Renato Iannella, Semantic Identity
  • Jian Yu, Auckland University of Technology
  • Kewen Liao, Swinburne University of Technology
  • Qinghua Lu, CSIRO
  • Jun Shen, University of Wollongong
  • Seung Ryu, The University of New South Wales
  • Hye-Young Paik, The University of New South Wales
  • Xiwei Xu, CSIRO
  • Dong Yuan, The University of Sydney
  • Yawen Chen, Otago University
  • Hai Dong, RMIT University
  • Ying Liu, NEU
  • Feifei Chen, Deakin University
  • Athman Bouguettaya, The University of Sydney
  • Y.N. Xia, Chongqing University
  • Lianghuai Yang, Zhejiang University
  • Xuyun Zhang, The University of Auckland
  • Anton V. Uzunov, Defence Science and Technology Group
  • Kai Zheng, University of Science and Technology of China
  • Bolong Zheng
  • Shangguang Wang, Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications
  • Muhammad Younas, Oxford Brookes University
  • Hua Wang, Victoria University
  • Jun Yan, University of Wollongong