18th Australasian Symposium on Parallel and Distributed Computing (AusPDC 2020)

AusPDC 2020 will be held in Melbourne Australia in conjunction with Australasian Computer Science Week, 3 - 7 February 2020.

Paper deadline has been extended.

Scope of the Symposium

In 2010, AusGrid event was broadened to include all aspects of parallel and distributed computing and hence was called as Australasian Symposium on Parallel and Distributed Computing (AusPDC). Following a couple of successful events, it comes to the 18th in 2020 in the series. In both New Zealand and Australia parallel and distributed computing has been recognised as strategic technologies for driving their moves towards knowledge economies. A number of projects and initiatives are underway in both countries in these areas. There is a natural interest in tools which support collaboration and access to remote resources given the challenges of the countries location and sparse populations.

Topics of interest for the symposium include (but not limited to):

  • Cloud computing

  • Grid and Cluster computing

  • Big Data processing and analytics

  • Data storage, placement and replication

  • Multi-core systems

  • Peer-to-peer computing

  • GPUs and other forms of special purpose processors

  • Service computing and workflow management

  • Managing large distributed data sets

  • Middleware and tools

  • Performance evaluation and modelling

  • Datacentre and Interconnection networks

  • Performance accelerators

  • Problem-solving environments

  • Parallel programming models, languages and compilers

  • Operating systems and runtime systems

  • Fog/edge computing and software defined networks

  • Mobile, sensor networks and Internet of things

  • Resource scheduling and load balancing

  • Data mining and machine learning

  • Computational Science and Engineering

  • Agent-based computing

  • Reliability, security, privacy and dependability

  • e-Science and e-Health Applications

The symposium is primarily targeted at researchers from Australia and New Zealand, however in the spirit of parallel and distributed computing, which aims to enable collaboration of distributed virtual organisations, we encourage papers and participation from international researchers.

Important Dates

Paper submissions due: Sunday 13 October 2019 (Sunday 20 October, 2019 - Extended)

Author notification: Sunday 10 November 2019

Camera-ready full papers due: Sunday 15 December 2019

CORE student travel award applications close: Sunday 24 November 2019

Early bird registrations close: Friday 20 December 2019

Paper Submission

The proceedings of the symposium will be published by ACM in conjunction with ACSW 2020. Papers should be formatted according to ACM conference paper formatting guidelines ACM SIG Proceedings Templates. The following guidelines must be met for all submissions:

  • Submissions must be in English.

  • Submissions must not exceed 10 pages for full papers, 4 pages for short papers and 2 pages for posters.

  • Submissions must be in PDF format. Other formats will not be accepted.

  • Submissions must clearly state the problem being addressed, the goal of the work, the results achieved, and the relation to other work.

  • Submissions must be original contributions that have not been published previously, nor already submitted to other conferences or journals in parallel with this conference.

  • Authors must choose the appropriate satellite conference or workshop for your submission

Papers are to be submitted via the ACSW 2020 Easy Chair Submission Site. Upon logging into the system, please select “New Submission”, then select "Australasian Symposium on Parallel and Distributed Computing" track and proceed through the steps for submission. Every submission will be reviewed by a minimum of three members of the program committee.


General Co-Chair

Albert Zomaya, The University of Sydney, Australia

Rajkumar Buyya, University of Melbourne, Australia

Jinjun Chen, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia

Program Committee Chairs

Irene Moser, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia

Adel N. Toosi, Monash University, Australia

Program Committee Members

David Abramson, The University of Queensland, Australia

Michael Sheng, Macquarie University ordinary, Australia

Bahman Javadi, Western Sydney University, Australia

Arash Shaghaghi, Deakin University, Melbourne, Australia

Rajkumar Buyya, The University of Melbourne, Australia

Jun Shen, University of Wollongong ordinary, Australia

Weifa Liang The Australian National University, Australia

Jianzhong Qi, The University of Melbourne, Australia

Minxian Xu, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Xiaoliang Fan, Xiamen University, China

Zhiyi Huang, University of Otago, New Zealand

Xuejun Li, Anhui University, China

Saurabh Kumar, University of Tasmania, Australia

Yun Yang , Swinburne University of Technology, Australia

Mingsong Chen, East China Normal University, China

Nabin Sharma, University of Technology, Sydney, Australia

Young Choon, Macquarie University, Australia

Wayne Kelly, Queensland University of Technology, Australia

Jun Yan, University of Wollongong , Australia

Qiang He, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia

Andrew Wendelborn, The University of Adelaide, Australia

Josh Milthorpe, Australian National University, Australia

Yaser Mansouri, The University of Adelaide, Australia

Victor Prokhorenko, The University of Adelaide, Australia