Geometric Group Theory in Campinas

2018 ICM Satellite Conference

Campinas, July 28 to 31

Brief Description: The aim of this workshop is to gather a number of leading experts on topics of Geometrical, Homological, Dynamical and Combinatorial properties in Groups. The event will also be an important chance for many researchers in Brazil to interact with internationally renowned Mathematicians.

Registration (now closed). There will be a R$ 150 registration fee for all lecturers and professors and a R$ 75 fee for all students to be paid on site in cash.

Visa information (from the IMPA website. If you need an invitation letter, email the organizing committee)

Travel information: there will be some buses to help participants reach the event, please check the Food, Travel and Lodging Information page

Organizing Committee:

  • Francesco Matucci (University of Campinas) francesco (at)
  • Dessislava Kochloukova (University of Campinas) desi (at)
  • Plamen Koshlukov (University of Campinas) plamen (at)

Scientific Committee:

  • Martin Bridson (University of Oxford),
  • Martin Kassabov (Cornell University),
  • Pavel Zalesski (University of Brasilia)

Observation: there will be another Group Theory event in Cabo Frio (Rio de Janeiro) before ours (July 23th to July 27th), but our event has been planned to have no intersection with the dates of the Cabo Frio event and the main ICM conference in Rio de Janeiro.

(courtesy of Altair Tosti and Miguel Del Río)

Plenary Speakers:

  • James Belk (Bard College)
  • Collin Bleak (University of St. Andrews)
  • Martin Bridson (Oxford University)
  • Kai-Uwe Bux (Universität Bielefeld)
  • Daciberg Gonçalves (Universidade de São Paulo)
  • John Guaschi (Université de Caen Normandie)
  • Martin Kassabov (Cornell University)
  • Olga Kharlampovich (City University of New York)
  • Conchita Martínez-Pérez (Universidad de Zaragoza)
  • Volodymyr Nekrashevych (Texas A&M University)
  • Brita Nucinkis (University of London)
  • Andrew Putman (University of Notre Dame)
  • Alan Reid (University of Texas at Austin)
  • Peter Wong (Bates College)
  • Pavel Zalesski (University of Brasilia)

We gratefully acknowledge the support of