The St. Mary's Undergraduate Research Fellowship

SURF 2021

MON. MAY 10 - FRI. JUL 2

* APPLICATIONS DUE by 5:00 pm, FRI, MARCH 19, 2021 *

Live on campus this summer (or undertake research remotely)

Do research on campus, consult virtually with a faculty mentor

(or in-person lab/studio mentoring with approval)

Communicate your research to a cross-disciplinary audience

Participate in professional development activities

Information session for Summer 2021 applicants:

MONDAY March 1st, 4:45 pm - 5:45 pm

[Video Recording of Session Below]

Have other questions?

Email the 2021 program co-director, Dr. Troy Townsend.

2021 SURF Information Session Recording.mp4


Thanks to support from the Office of the Provost and the St. Mary’s Foundation, SMCM is offering the St. Mary’s Undergraduate Research Fellowship program this summer (2021). SURF is an eight-week program in which an interdisciplinary cohort of students, each mentored by a faculty member, engage in scholarly or creative work. Participation in SURF is competitive, based upon committee review of project proposal, letters of recommendation, SMCM grades, and clear commitment of a faculty mentor to work consistently with the student over the eight-week period.

SURF is open to students in any year and in any discipline who will have completed coursework necessary to prepare them for their project. Students in the program must work full-time on their project and attend two weekly group meetings, during which they will report on their progress, discuss the scholarship of their discipline, learn about their peers’ work, and participate in professional development workshops. Students present their work at the SURF Symposium at the conclusion of the program, and potentially to the wider community during the following academic year.

SURF fellows receive a $3,250 stipend, on-campus housing, and a meal plan.

Upon approval, students may also be awarded funds for necessary project materials.