Analysis of Communication and Transport Systems

Teacher: Tatiana Polishchuk, tatiana.polishchuk@liu.se (zoom link).


Announcements:

Today January 10 is the deadline for submitting your final report documents. Please, do not forget to fill in the self-assessment forms. Thank you!


Course description

Lecture 1 (Nov 3, 10-12): Introduction to the course and projects

Lecture 2 (Nov 5, 10-12): Group/project allocation meeting (slides)


Projects:

Traffic Analysis

T1: Detection of Incidents Using Large Data Sets (Ellen)

T2: Evaluating New Types of Sensor Data for Origin-Destination Demand Matrix Calibration (Clas)

T3: Route Choice Model Validation Using Large-Scale GPS Data (Clas)

T4: Traffic Simulation Analysis of Automated Vehicles (Johan)


Supply Chain Planning (Quantitative Logistics)

Q1: Sustainable Flying Alternatives (Tatiana)

Q2: Identifying Explanatory Factors for the Forecast of EMS demand (Krisjanis)

Q3: Evacuation of Community (Martin)

Q4: Steel Production Planning (Martin)

Q5: Supply Chain Uncertainty and Sustainability - Game Development (Micael)

Q6: Coordination of the Autonomous Vehicles: Pre-Study (Tatiana)


Smart Cities

S1: Federated Learning for IoT and Smart Cities (Nikolaos)

S2: Architecture Definition of and IoT backend System (Vangelis)

S3: Approximating Outdoor Crows Sizes Using Wifi Sniffers (Vangelis)


The first supervision meeting: week 45. Contact your supervisor today!


Course milestones:

  • Monday November 15: Project specification and project plan delivery

  • Thursday December 2: Mid-project evaluation: implementation status

  • Friday December 10: Preliminary final report submission

  • Wednesday-Thursday December 15-16: Final report presentations

  • Monday January 10: Final report submission and due date for the project assessment submission


The project specification shall be formatted according to the project specification template.

The mid-project evaluation shall be formatted according to the mid-project evaluation template.

The final report shall conform to the format given in the template for the final report.

Project assessment shall be submitted together with the final report and formatted using the project reflections and self-assessment template.

Each group shall have at least one supervision meeting each week.

All supervision meetings shall be documented in “minutes” documents in free form (no template is provided).

The meeting minutes shall be uploaded to the Collaborative Workspace in LISAM within 3 days from the meeting.

Presentation schedule


Project supervisors:

Clas Rydergren, clas.rydergren@liu.se (Traffic Analysis)

Johan Olstam, johan.olstam@liu.se (Traffic Analysis)

Ghazwan Al-Haji, ghazwan.al-haji@liu.se (Traffic Analysis)

Ellen Grumert, ellen.grumert@liu.se (Traffic Analysis)

Tatiana Polishchuk, tatiana.polishchuk@liu.se (Supply Chain Planning)

Martin Waldemarsson, martin.waldemarsson@liu.se (Supply Chain Planning)

Micael Thunberg, micael.thunberg@liu.se (Supply Chain Planning)

Nikolaos Pappas, nikolaos.pappas@liu.se (Smart Cities)

Vangelis Angelakis, vangelis.angelakis@liu.se (Smart Cities)