The American Planning Association's New York Metro Chapter Journalism Award award "recognizes leadership in print, broadcast or web-based media that supports planning." 

On October 30, 2015, Philip Mark Plotch was awarded this prestigious award for his in-depth research, hard hitting analysis and compelling look at the politics behind the new Tappan Zee Bridge.  Below is the list of previous award winners:

2016 - Corey Kilgannon, New York Times
2015 - Philip Mark Plotch, Politics Across the Hudson
2014 – Andrew Revkin, Dot Earth blog for the Op-Ed section of The New York Times.
2013 - Beyond Zuccotti Park  by Ronald Schiffman (Editor) and Rick Bell (Editor)
2012 - Michael Kimmelman, New York Times
2011 - Kenneth Jackson
2009 - CityLand
2008 – Charles V. Bagli, The New York Times
2007 – Field Notes from a Catastrophe: Man, Nature, and Climate Change, Elizabeth Kolbert
2006 – The Works: Anatomy of a City, Kate Ascher, author, and Alexander Isley, Illustrator
2005 - New York: The Photo Atlas
2004 - No award given
2003 - Orange County Time Herald Record - series on sprawl
2002 - Gotham Gazette
2001 - Tri-state Transportation Campaign, Mobilizing the Region
2000 - New York Newsday - Edward T. Rogowsky, MetroView
1999 - Dave Lutz, Neighborhood Open Space Coalition's electronic newsletter
1997 - Todd Bressi, Editor, Places: Forum for Design of the Public Realm
1995 - Robert A.M. Stern, The New York Series
1994 - Eugenie Birch and Peter Salins, Journal of the American Planning Association
1993 - Roberta Brandes Gratz, New York Newsday and author - Ron Britzke, editor of the Cornwall Local
1992 - David W. Dunlap, The New York Times and author
1991 - Doug Turetsky, former Editor, City Limits
1990 - Brendan Gill, New Yorker magazine and author
1989 - Paul Goldberger, The New York Times columnist and author