Principal Investigator:

  • Siddharth A. Parameswaran, Associate Professor
             PhD, Physics, Princeton University, 2011.
B.S., Physics, and B.A., Mathematics, University of Rochester, 2006.
Simons Postdoctoral Fellow, UC Berkeley, 2011-2014.
Assistant Professor, UC Irvine, 2014- 2017. (On leave, 2017-18.)
                        [Brief CV|Publications]

Postdoctoral Researchers:

We are currently looking for highly motivated researchers to join our group, funded by an ERC Starting Grant [Details here].

I am currently collaborating with three postdocs in the broader Oxford CMT group: Sthitadhi Roy, Eric Vernier, and Felix Flicker.

Graduate students:

The graduate students currently working towards PhDs under my supervision are:

  • Mr. Aaron Friedman 
Graduate student, UC Irvine, 2014-.
Visiting student, UMass Amherst, 2018-.
Recognized Student, Oxford, 2017-18.
NSF Graduate Research Fellow, 2016-2019.  
B.S., Physics, UC San Diego, 2013.              
Topics: Many-body localization and quantum dynamics

  • Mr. Yves Kwan 
DPhil student, Oxford, 2018-.
Research intern, Oxford/UC Irvine, Sept.-Dec. 2017.
MMathPhys, University of Oxford, 2017.        
Topics: topological phases of matter; frustrated magnetism

  • Mr. Michele Fava 
DPhil student, Oxford, 2018-.
Masters in Physics,  Scuola Normale, Pisa, 2018.        
Topics: disordered systems and quantum dynamics

Undergraduates and Visitors: None at present

Group Alumni (Oxford):
  • Dr. Brayden Ware, postdoctoral researcher, 2017-18. Current position: postdoctoral researcher, Vasseur group, UMass Amherst, (2018-).
  • Mr. Raphael Kozlovsky, Visiting Graduate Student, Oxford, August 2017 - February 2018.  Current position: Graduate student, University of Regensburg, Germany (Advisor: Prof. Klaus Richter) (2015-.)
  • Mr. Yves Kwan, research intern, Oxford, September -December 2017. Current positionGraduate student, University of Oxford (2018-.)

Group Alumni (UC Irvine):

  • Dr. SungBin Lee, postdoctoral researcher 2014-2016. Current position: Assistant Professor, KAIST, Korea (2016-)
  • Dr. Pramod Padmanabhan, Visiting FAPESP Fellow, 2015-2016.  Current position: Postdoctoral Fellow, IBS, Korea (2016-)
  • Dr. Kush Saha, CAIQuE Postdoctoral Fellow, 2015-2016. Current position: Assistant Professor, NISER, Odisha India (2018-). Mr. Kevin Ly  undergraduate student researcher. (May 2016-May 2017). Current position: Graduate student, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2017-).

  • California Institute for Quantum Emulation

    At UCI, Sid was also a founding co-PI of the California Institute for Quantum Emulation (CAIQuE), funded by the UC Office of the President and the California Nanoscience Institute at UCSB. The other members are experimentalists David Weld (UCSB), Wes Campbell (UCLA), Julio Barreiro (UCSD) and Dan Stamper-Kurn(UCB), and fellow theorists Joel Moore (UCB) and Congjun Wu (UCSD).


    Funding: Our research is, or has been, supported by the US National Science Foundation, the UC Office of the President Research Initiatives Program, and the Foundational Questions Institute.
    thumbnail of small NSF logo in color University of California Office of the President logo