"Advancing Our Horizons -- New Thoughts, Ways and Ideas"

Darlene Skari
Rocky Mountain Region Director 2015-2017

The eight states of the Rocky Mountain Region cover a very diverse part of the United States.  Montana, Utah, Wyoming and Colorado are usually considered to be part of the west, while North and South Dakota, Kansas and Nebraska are more the mid-west.  Much of the area was once labeled on maps as The Great American Desert, an area to be traveled through as quickly as possible.  While there are cities such as Denver, Salt Lake and Omaha, many garden clubs are in fairly isolated rural settings.

What all members have in common is a real desire to educate and spread the knowledge of many aspects of gardening to improve the part of the world they inhabit.  The areas may be different, from the high mountain valleys surrounded by forests to the short-grass prairies and the deep soil of the Red River Valley in North Dakota.  Garden club members are leaders in education in their areas as they understand local conditions.  Learning to deal with droughts, wind, poor or little water, insects and diseases are understood best at the local level as conditions vary so much.

A pressing problem for the clubs of the Region, especially rural ones, is membership.  Members are aging, family members are busy and younger generations are less likely to join any volunteer organization.  Sharing ideas can help us "Advance Our Horizons."

Conservation Pledge

I pledge to protect and conserve the natural resources of the planet earth and promise to promote education so we may become caretakers of our air, water, forests, land and wildlife.
Our beautiful Region includes the States of Colorado, Kansas,
Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming

Rocky Mountain Region, Inc. is recognized under IRS Codes as a 501(c)3 tax-exempt organization.