UniversityHigh School

History of Soccer in the MSHSL - First Teams as told in a letter from Guido Kauls

The first soccer teams ever in the State of Minnesota played during the Fall of 1961. No official statistics were kept as all schools had just clubs. The teams were Minnehaha Academy, St. Thomas Academy, Breck, Blake, Edina, and University High School.

In 1962-63, the first official league was formed. Five schools joined the league. They were Minnehaha Academy, Shattuck, Blake, Breck, and St. Thomas Academy. Minnehaha Academy won the championship in that first year.

In 1963-64, seven teams made up the new league called Minnesota High School Soccer League. Two more teams joined. They were Edina (as a club) and Richfield. Minnehaha Academy again won the championship.

In 1964-65, White Bear Lake joined the league. Blake won the championship.

In 1965-66, Edina dropped out of the league but continued on as a club. St. Louis Park joined the league and Blake and Minnehaha Academy were co-champions.

In 1966-67, the Lake Conference and the private schools each formed their own leagues. The seven teams in the private league were Blake, Benilde, Minnehaha Academy, St. Thomas Academy, Shattuck, Breck, and Cretin. Blake was the champion.

In 1967-68, Brady and Bethany were added to the independent league. Benilde won its first championship.

This league continued until 1971-72 when Shattuck and Bethany dropped out and it split into two divisions- the East and the West. Hill-Murray joined the league and each division had four teams.

In 1972-73, Saint Paul Academy joined the conference, and in 1973-74, Burnsville joined. In 1975-76 Burnsville joined the Lake Conference leaving the West division with four teams and the East with five.