Dr. Mauro Ettorre

Senior IEEE Member
Associate Editor, IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation

CNRS Research Scientist
University of Rennes 1

Campus de Beaulieu - Bat. 11D
263 Avenue du General Leclerc
35042 Rennes Cedex - France
Phone / Fax: +33 (0)2 23 23 54 24 / 69 69
Email: mauro.ettorre@univ-rennes1.fr

Capsule Bio:

Dr. Mauro Ettorre received a Laurea degree “summa cum laude” in Electrical Engineering and a Ph.D. in Electromagnetics from the University of Siena, Italy, in 2004 and 2008, respectively. Part of his Ph.D. work was developed at the Defence, Security and Safety Institute of the Netherlands Organization for Applied Scientific Research (TNO), The Netherlands, where he later worked as an Antenna Researcher. From 2008 to 2010, Dr. Ettorre was a Postdoctoral Fellow at the Institut d'Electronique et de Télécommunications de Rennes (IETR), Université de Rennes 1, France. In 2010, he was a Visiting Scholar in the Radiation Laboratory, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Michigan. Since October 2010, he is a Research Scientist at the French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS), within the IETR. In 2014, he assumed responsibilities for the multi-beam antenna activity for satellite applications in the joint laboratory between IETR and Thales Alenia Space, France. In 2015, he was an invited professor at Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan. In 2016, he was on a sabbatical in the Radiation Laboratory, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Michigan. Dr. Ettorre’s research interests include the analysis and design of leaky-wave antennas, periodic structures, millimeter-wave antennas, non-diffractive radiation, near-field focusing techniques, and wireless power transfer systems.

He has authored over 45 journal papers, 122 conference communications and has 7 international patents on millimeter-wave antenna technology. Dr. Ettorre received the Young Antenna Engineer Prize at the 2008 European Space Agency Antenna Workshop in The Netherlands, the 2009 French Ministry of Research award for the most innovative project in all natural sciences, the 2012 Starting Grant Award from the city of Rennes, France, the Young Investigator Award from the French National Research Agency in 2014 and the 2016 CNRS Award for Scientific Excellence.