Home‎ > ‎Interconnection‎ > ‎

Massachusetts Technical Standards Review Group

This site has been created to serve as a central internet resource for the Massachusetts Technical Standards Review Group (TSRG).  

TSRG was assembled through an agreement among the DG Working Group members. Details about this agreement can be found on page 30 of the 
Proposed Changes to the Uniform Standards for Interconnecting Distributed Generation in Massachusettsthe final report of the Distributed Generation
Working Group (September 14, 2012)
.  The MA-TSRG Final By-Laws are available here.


Utility Membership
Chair: Babak Enayati, National Grid / 781-907-3242 / Babak.Enayati@nationalgrid.com    
Mike Porcaro, National Grid / Michael.Porcaro@nationalgrid.com 
Michael Brigandi, Eversource (NSTAR) / michael.brigandi@eversource.com
Cynthia Janke, WMECo / 413-585-1750 / cynthia.janke@eversource.com (alternate: Erik Morgan)
John Bonazoli, Unitil / bonazoli@unitil.com

Non-Utility Membership
Vice-Chair:  Solar RepMichael Conway, Borrego Solar / 978-610-2860 / mconway@borregosolar.com
CHP Rep: Reid Sprite, Source One / 617-339-6152 / rsprite@s1inc.com
Gov/Cust Rep Alternate: Richard Gross, Richard C. Gross, P.E., Inc. / 
508-898-0020 /  rgross@ieee.org
Ex Officio Membership
Nancy Stevens, Director of Consumer Division, Interconnection Ombudsperson, Massachusetts DPU

TSRG Web Page Administrator
Gerry Bingham, MBA, Sr. Coordinator for Distributed Energy Resources, MA DOER / gerry.bingham@state.ma.us

Common Technical Guideline 

The Common Technical Guideline highlights commonalities and differences in the interconnection practices and requirements of the four public utilities in MA. The document should serve as reference material for interconnecting customers in the state.  

2016 Common Technical Standards Manual (posted 8/1/16)

2013 Guideline

2013 Guideline Quick-Reference Matrix

Meeting #11 (September 7, 2016) 
National Grid – Worcester 939 Southbridge St. / Worcester, MA 01610

AGENDA (posted 8/31/16)
Minutes (posted 9/23/16)
Materials Under Review:  
MA-TSRG Final By-Laws


Meeting #10 (July 27, 2016)

Meeting #9 (March 17, 2016)


Meeting #8 (December 3, 2015)
Minutes (draft posted 12/19/15)

Meeting #7 (September 23, 2015)
Minutes (draft posted 10/5/15)


Meeting #6 (July 8, 2015) 

Meeting #5 (April 1, 2015) 
  • Hosting Capacity reading material provided by DOER: EPRI's publicly available Study entitled, "The Integrated Grid: A Cost-Benefit Framework," describes least-cost methods for determining PV Hosting Capacity with existing Impact Studies and System Planning activities.

Meeting #4 (September 17, 2014) 

   -  Minutes
   -  National Grid Presentation: Company Owned Solar - Phase II (PDF)
   -  NSTAR Responses to Agenda Items covered during their absence

Meeting #3 (April 16, 2014) 

Special Meeting (January 29, 2014)

Special Meeting (December 2, 2013)

Meeting #2 (September 16, 2013)

Supporting Materials 
If a non-TSRG member would like to share any documents or practices, please contact Babak Enayati through email (Babak.Enayati@nationalgrid.com).

TOPIC: Company-Specific Technical Requirements
National Grid: Requirements for Parallel Generation Connected to a National Grid Owned EPS (The MA Standard is in Electric Service Bulletin 756 - Attachment C)
NSTAR: 12 Point Verification (This document is in revision.)

TOPIC: Penetration Screen Review

Key Background Materials