Dr. Jonathan Y. Tsou

University of Texas at Dallas
School of AHT, JO31
800 West Campbell Rd.
Richardson, TX 75080-3021


I am Professor of Philosophy and the Marvin and Kathleen Stone Distinguished Professor of Humanities in Medicine and Science at University of Texas at Dallas (School of Arts, Humanities, and Technology and the Center for Values in Medicine, Science, and Technology). I received my Ph.D. from University of Chicago in 2008, where I wrote a philosophy of psychiatry dissertation under the direction of William C. Wimsatt, Robert J. Richards, and Ian Hacking. In 2008-09, I was a SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellow at University of British Columbia. Prior to joining UT Dallas in 2022, I was Professor of Philosophy at Iowa State University. In 2021, I was awarded the Louis Thompson Distinguished Undergraduate Teacher Designation by Iowa State University for outstanding undergraduate teaching over an extended period.

I am a philosopher of science with broad and interdisciplinary research interests. In addition to general philosophy of science issues (e.g., natural kinds, causation, underdetermination, values in science), I have special interests in philosophy of science issues as they arise in psychiatry and psychology. I also have longstanding research interests in the history of 20th century philosophy of science (especially Carnap, Kuhn, and Quine). I am author of Philosophy of Psychiatry (Cambridge University Press, 2021), co-editor of Objectivity in Science (Springer, 2015), and co-editor of Technology Ethics (Routledge, 2023).

In 2023, I will be a member of the Governing Board of the Philosophy of Science Association (PSA). I served as a member of the Poster Forum Committee for the 2022 PSA meeting (PSA 2022) and the Program Committee for the 2021 PSA meeting (PSA 2020/2021). I am a member of the Executive Council of the Advancement for Philosophy and Psychiatry (AAPP), the Editorial Advisory Board for Philosophy of Medicine, and the Philosophy of Science Association (PSA) Archive Committee. In 2014-17, I was a member of the American Philosophical Association (APA) Committee on Asian and Asian-American Philosophers and Philosophies.