About Cochin University of Science and Technology

Established in 1971 and named as  University of Cochin, it was the symbol of commitment from the Government of Kerala towards the new scientific policy resolution adopted by the Central Government on 4th March 1958. The birth of the new University was with the specific purpose of “development of higher education with particular emphasis on post-graduate studies and research in applied science, technology, industry and commerce”. The University of Cochin was later reorganized as Cochin University of Science and Technology (CUSAT) in February 1986. Specialisations are available in  all Faculties/Departments for higher studies and research. 

About Department of Mathematics

The Department of Mathematics was established in 1996. The Department conducts M.Sc., M.Phil. and Ph.D. programmes in Mathematics.  From the very beginning, the Department has taken the leadership in promoting research in mathematics and its applications, especially in this part of the country. Thrust areas of research of the department are Stochastic Modeling, Graph Theory, Algebra, Semi group Theory, Universal Algebras and Category Theory, Fuzzy Mathematics, Wavelet Analysis, Operator Theory, Topology and Fluid Mechanics. 

About the Conference ICRTGC 2018

International Conference on Recent Trends in Graph theory and Combinatorics ( ICRTGC-2018) is organized as a sequel to ICRTGC-2010 , conducted as a Satellite Conference of the International Congress of Mathematicians , 2010 and  is in honour of Ambat Vijayakumar, Professor, Department of Mathematics, Cochin University of Science and Technology on his retirement in May 2018.

The academic programme of ICRTGC-2018  will consist of plenary and invited talks by eminent researchers in the field of Graph theory, Combinatorics and related topics from all parts of the world, and contributed presentations .




 Dr. P.G. Romeo 

Department of Mathematics
Cochin University of Science and Technology

Co-Conveners :

Dr. B. Radhakrishnan Nair
( Professor,  Amrita School of Arts and Sciences, Kochi )

Dr. Aparna Lakshmanan S.
( Assistant Professor, Department of Mathematics, St. Xavier’s College,  Aluva )