Research Team


Our mission is to develop and analyze novel algorithmic solutions to current and future challenges in communication engineering. We strive to reveal connections of these solutions across different disciplines and thus unify them. We are curious and challenge ourselves by actively seeking feedback through collaboration and open sharing of ideas. We aim to generate useful knowledge and disseminate it through top-tier journal and conference publications, with high regard to both style and content.

Current Members

Postdoctoral Researchers

  • Nil Garcia PhD 2015, NJIT, USA, and Institut Nationale Polytechnique de Toulouse, France
  • Canan Aydogdu, PhD 2011, Bilkent University, Turkey
  • Fuxi Wen, PhD, 2013, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Bile Peng, PhD, 2018, TU Braunschweig, Germany
  • Furkan Keskin, PhD, 2018, Bilkent University, Turkey

PhD Students

  • Robert Hult (main supervisor: Paolo Falcone)
  • Mohammad Ali Nazari (co-supervisor: Jonas Sjöberg)
  • Erik Steinmetz (co-supervised by Ragne Emardson and Fredrik Brännström)
  • Arni Alfredsson (main supervisor: Erik Agrell)
  • Christopher Lindberg

Former Members

Postdoctoral Researchers

  • Peter Kovacs
  • Themistoklis Charalambous (Aalto University)
  • Mouhamed Abdulla
  • Zhenhua Zou (Ericsson Research)
  • Juzi Zhao (San Jose State University)
  • Jie Lu (Shanghai Tech)
  • Ali Abbas Syed Zaidi (Ericsson Research)
  • Rocco Di Taranto (Ericsson Research)

PhD Students

Visiting Researchers

  1. Francesco Sottile, Politecnico di Torino and ISMB
  2. Federico Penna, Politecnico di Torino and ISMB
  3. Mauricio Caceres, Politecnico di Torino and ISMB
  4. Pello Ochandiano, Mondragon University
  5. Samuel Van de Velde, Ghent University
  6. Vladimir Savic, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid
  7. Bernhard Etzlinger, Johannes Kepler University
  8. Philipp Müller, Tampere University of Technology
  9. Yakup Kilic, University of Twente, The Netherlands
  10. Florian Meyer, TU Vienna
  11. Ondrej Daniel, Tampere University of Technology
  12. Arash Shahmansoori, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
  13. Siwei Zhang, DLR
  14. Vinay-prasad Chowdappa, University of Valencia
  15. Nunzia Giorgia Ferrara, Tampere University of Technology
  16. Gloria Soatti, Politecnico di Milano
  17. Jukka Talvitie, Tampere University of Technology
  18. Raj Patel, Eurecom, France
  19. Elena Cinque, Università degli Studi dell'Aquila, Italy
  20. Giuseppe Destino, Univ. of Oulu, Finland