This is the 2018-2019 HEP-Experiment faculty (tenure-track or permanent position) rumor mill.  No guarantees of accuracy here.  For more information on our posting policies, see The Fine Print.

For HEP-Experiment postdoc jobs, see the hep-ex postdoc rumor mill.

To submit rumors, or to help fill in missing information from past years, email hepexrumor [at] gmail [dot] com or fill in the form below.  The form is anonymous.  If you submit a rumor via the form and it's not posted within a few days, or if your rumor is removed, please email to find out why.  Your feedback on the structure and content of the site is also welcome, either through the form or by email.  

Please help to keep the list of jobs updated by submitting links to specific job postings.

Some random notes that don't fit neatly into the table are at the bottom of the page.

Field Key: 
  • Colliders (energy frontier)
  • Dark matter, direct detection (cosmic frontier)
  • Neutrino, lepton physics (intensity frontier)
  • Other

Combinations of letters indicate an ad that either specifies no subfield, or identifies several.  Combinations that contain underlined letters indicate some perceived preference (or rumor) for a particular subfield.  See more on this in The Fine Print.

Last updated November 13, 2018.  Recent changes:

 New PostsImperial
 Short Lists CERN
 Faculty Shuffle

Positions outside of the US

 Institution  Field  Short List  Offers
 Cyprus  CDNO
 Simon Fraser C   
 OIST (Japan) CDNO  
 Genoa CDNO   
 Glasgow   N Antonino Sergi (Birmingham) [NA62/LHCb/DUNE]
 David Hadley (Warwick) [T2K/Hyper-K]
 Lorena Escudero Sanchez (Cambridge) [MicroBooNE/DUNE]
 Philip Litchfield (Imperial College London) [T2K/Hyper-K/COMET]
 Philip Litchfield (accepted)
 York/FNAL   N  
 Bristol C N  
 ICU Japan CDNO  
 CERN LD CDNO Keisuke Yoshihara (Pennsylvania) [ATLAS]
 Marc-Olivier Bettler  (Cambridge) [LHCb]
 Conor Fitzpatrick (EPFL) [LHCb]
 Alex Pearce (CERN) [LHCb]
 Ludovica Aperio Bella (CERN) [ATLAS]
 Andrea Carlo Marini (MIT) [CMS]
 Livia Soffi (Cornell) [CMS]
 Warwick C  
 Queens    O  
 Imperial C  

Positions in the US

 Institution  Field  Short List  Offers
 Wilson Fellowship  CDNO
 Chicago (junior) CDNO  
 Chicago (senior) CDNO  
 Caltech CDNO  
 Princeton CDNO   
 Colgate CDNO  
 Pittsburgh CDNO  
 Minnesota C N  
 Baylor CDNO  
 Lehigh CDNO  
 Rutgers  DNO  
 North Carolina  DNO  
 Harvard CDNO  
 Penn State CDNO   
 UC San Diego CDNO  
 Cincinnati C  
 SLAC (Panofsky) CDNO  
 Michigan State C  
 Brookhaven C  
 Alabama C  

Random Notes