Porad Haiku Award

The Washington Poets Association has occasionally sponsored haiku contests since the organization began in 1971, even publishing at least eight books of haiku from its contests in the late 1970s and early 80s. In 2004, at the urging of Michael Dylan Welch, the WPA started running a haiku contest annually, which Michael suggested naming after Francine Porad, the doyenne of haiku poetry in the Pacific Northwest, editor of Brussels Sprout haiku magazine, past president of the Haiku Society of America, and founder, in 1988, of Haiku Northwest. In 2008, Haiku Northwest cosponsored this contest, and continued as cosponsor until 2014, when it took over sole sponsorship of the contest. The following are links to all the contest winners and judges’ comments since the Porad Award for haiku began in 2004.
Submission guidelines for the 2019 contest (Deadline: September 20, 2019)

Past Winners

2004       Michael Dylan Welch, judge

2005       Christopher Herold, judge

2006       Ruth Yarrow, judge
2007       William J. Higginson, judge

2008       Margaret Chula, judge

2009       Michael Dylan Welch, judge

2010       Penny Harter, judge
2011       Susan Constable, judge
2012       Deborah P Kolodji, judge
2013       Ce Rosenow, judge
2014       John Stevenson, judge
2015       Carolyn Hall, judge
2016       Charles Trumbull, judge
2017       Terry Ann Carter, judge
2018       Francine Banwarth, judge
2019       Tom Painting, judge
Content for 2004–2009 will be added as time allows. These links used to point to the website for the Washington Poets Association, which originally sponsored the contest, but the organization no longer exists.