Gunfighter Squadron Unit History

GUNFIGHTER Squadron of the United States Naval Sea Cadet Corps was formed on 24 August 1973 as PCU MIRAMAR Division. The pre-commissioning inspection was held on 11 December 1973 and MIRAMAR Division was commissioned on 15 December 1973 at the Base Theater, Naval Air Station Miramar.

The Division occupied various transient facilities from 1973 though 1975. On 20 May 1975, MIRAMAR Division was renamed FIGHTERTOWN Squadron.

In 1976 FIGHTERTOWN Squadron occupied two Quonset huts located across from Hanger Five. The Squadron's uniforms were stored in that hanger in a small storeroom approximately the size of a telephone booth. All of these uniforms were required to remain within large cardboard boxes due to lack of space to unpack, sort, and store them. The "office" portion of the Squadron occupied one of the Quonset huts and the second hut was utilized as a classroom for the Cadets.

In 1977 the Squadron was moved to the second deck of Hanger Three occupied by Fighter Squadron ONE TWENTY-FOUR (VF-124), the GUNFIGHTERS. The Squadron was permitted the use of two desks in one corner of VF-124's office and the VF-124 FRAMP Room was utilized as a Cadet classroom. The uniforms remained in cartons stored in a small room located in the Navy Exchange office building. Shelving was built and the Squadron began to unpack uniforms from their cartons. On 22 November 1977 FIGHTERTOWN Squadron was renamed GUNFIGHTER Squadron.

From 1979 to mid-1980 the Squadron was once again relocated to one of the "transient" buildings, which was shortly torn down. This building contained a small office and a small storeroom, so small in fact, that the uniforms were once again returned to their cartons.

In mid-1980 a move was again made to a small trailer. This particular facility contained an office area large enough for two desks and one file cabinet. Uniform storage was moved into what now serves as the Cadet classroom. At this time the uniforms were finally unpacked from their cartons, sorted, sized, and shelved.

In late 1980 GUNFIGHTER Squadron made its final move to building K-168. This building has an office large enough to accommodate many desks, file cabinets, extra tables for extra workspace, a small private office for the Commanding Officer, a classroom for the cadets, and adequate restroom facilities. The Squadron's supply trailer was moved to its present location directly behind building K-168, Telephone service was added soon thereafter.

In 1995 Fighter Squadron ONE TWENTY-FOR (VF-124) was disestablished, GUNFIGHTER Squadron was adopted by FIGHTER SQUADRON THREE ZERO ONE (VF-301). This relationship lasted until VF-301s disestablishment in 1997. GUNFIGHTER Squadron was then adopted by MARINE CORPS FIGHTER ATTACK SQUADRON ONE THREE FOUR (VMFA-134) and MARINE AIR GROUP FORTY-SIX (MAG-46). These relationships last to this day.

Things remained the same at GUNFIGHTER Squadron until 1997 when the classroom and supply trailer were rearranged. The supply was moved into the building adjacent to the restrooms and the classroom was moved out into the trailer. On 01 October 1997 Naval Air Station Miramar was turned over to the Marine Corps and was renamed Marine Corps Air Station Miramar. The building was renumbered from K-168 to 9168.

In November 2001, due to pending construction on the flight line. The Squadron and Training Ship were given notice to vacate building 9168, the Unit's home for 28 years. Marine Aircraft Group 46 has proposed for the unit to move to building a different building adjacent to Hanger 3 (Building 9500). On 16 March 2002, Building 9689 was turned over to the Squadron. After extensive remodeling and renovations the Squadron began operating out of building 9689 in September 2003.

In late 2015, build 9689 had been deemed to have exceeded its useful life span and was scheduled for demolition by the MCAS Miramar base operations. In April 2016, GUNFIGHTER Squadron moved into its new joint home, with two local Young Marines units, in building 6103. A unit admin office was constructed during the summer of 2015 using the generous donation of a small office sized cubicle panel system by one of our unit families.

Gunfighter Squadron has been fortunate over the years to have the outstanding capabilities and admirable leadership of such highly qualified Commanding Officers:

  • LCDR Doc Chew, NSCC (1976-1978)
  • LT Steve Reardon, NSCC (1978-1979)
  • LT James DeMarco, NSCC (1979-1980)
  • LT Don Olney, NSCC (1980-1981)
  • LCDR Milton Strouse, NSCC (1981-1983)
  • LCDR Sam Wightman, NSCC (1983-1984)
  • LT Veronica Acosta, NSCC (1984-1985)
  • LT Robert Keisel, NSCC (1985-1986)
  • LCDR Carroll Kennedy, NSCC (1986-1987)
  • LCDR Patrick Ulrich, NSCC (1987-1989)
  • LCDR Charles Ferguson, NSCC (1989-1991)
  • LT Michael Park, NSCC (1991-1993)
  • LTJG Gene Watts, NSCC (1993-1995)
  • LCDR Hans Greene, NSCC (1995-1997)
  • LT Michael O'Keefe, USN (1997-1998)
  • LCDR Scott Oram, NSCC (1998-2005)
  • CWO2 Anthony Harris, NSCC (2005-2006)
  • LT Rosemary Dymek, NSCC (2006-2009)
  • LCDR Bob Rombach, NSCC (2009-2015)
  • CDR Donn Murray NSCC, USN-Ret. (2015-Present)

In addition to the outstanding leadership of its Commanding Officers, GUNFIGHTER Squadron has benefited from the service of its Chief Petty Officers:

  • CPO Michael Tscheuschner, NSCC (1986)
  • CPO Wallace Cannon, NSCC (1987)
  • CPO Monica Brace, NSCC (1988)
  • CPO Marc Alexander, NSCC (1988)
  • CPO Jason Stroyer, NSCC (1989)
  • CPO Katie Groves, NSCC (1990)
  • CPO Todd Wilson, NSCC (1995)
  • CPO Sarah Rowbotham, NSCC (1995)
  • CPO Matthew Rose, NSCC (1999)
  • CPO Thomas Norton, NSCC (2000)
  • CPO Matthew McCue, NSCC (2001)
  • CPO Pat Fitzgerald, NSCC (2001)
  • CPO Will Couts, NSCC (2002)
  • CPO Joshua Churchill (2002)
  • CPO Kyle Joynt (2003)
  • CPO Ryan Joynt (2003)
  • CPO Adam Nottberg (2004)
  • CPO Sean O'Callaghan (2006)
  • CPO Jason Rothrock (2006)
  • CPO Kristen Figueroa (2008)
  • CPO Zach Herb (2009)
  • CPO Allison Adamos (2010)
  • CPO Dominic Khuat (2013-14)
  • CPO Byron Whitehead (2014-15)
  • CPO Gavin Schell (2015)
  • CPO Nicholas Stockbridge (2015-16)
  • CPO Adam Foster (2016)
  • CPO Quinton Dai (2017)
  • CPO Johnathan Larkin (2017-2018)