Please note that I have left my position at Heriot-Watt and will update this page soon!

I am an Assistant Professor (which we used to call a Lecturer) in Computer Science within the School of Mathematical and Computer Sciences at Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh, UK. I work in the Dependable Systems Group. I am the programme director of the MSc Software Engineering theme (encompassing Software Engineering, IT (Software Systems) & Network Security) and the co-ordinator for the Computer Science  programme of the  LEAPS summer school, which aims to promote social inclusion and equality of opportunity.

Previously I have worked in the Mathematical Reasoning Group (a.k.a the DReAM group) within the School of Informatics within the University of Edinburgh. I am still a visitor there and work closely with the group. I have also worked within the Centre for Software Reliability at Newcastle University, and I still work closely with several members of that group.

Contact Details

Email:  G.Grov (at) hw (dot) ac (dot) uk

Phone: +44 (0) 131 451 3412

Address: Room G.49, Earl Mountbatten Building, Computer Science, School of Mathematical and Computer Sciences, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, EH14 4AS

View Gudmund Grov's profile on LinkedIn View Gudmund Grov's profile on Google Scholar

Awards, honours & professional memberships

  • SICSA Early Career Industrial Fellowship
  • Fellow of the Higher Education Academy
  • Member of EPSRC Peer Review Associate College 
  • Paper `Towards Formal Proof Script Refactoring' won best paper award at MKM 2011
  • Paper `Tactics for the Dafny Program Verifier' nominated for EATCS award (ETAPS 2016)
  • PhD thesis  [linkPDF] nominated for BCS distinguished dissertation award
  • Distinction awarded for MSc (2004) [linkPDF]
  • Member of the ACM
  • I have been the organiser of the Scottish Theorem Proving (STP) seminar series and the web-coordinater for the Verified Software Initiative
  • Several personal grants and awards: James Watt Scholarship, Knut Hamsuns minnefond, Lise og Arnfinn Hejes fond, Petter Dass‘ stipendiefond, Ludvig Daae Løvestad Legat, Johan Helmich Janson og Marcia Jansons Legat, Direktør Halvor B. Holtas Legat ved NTNU, Nansenfondet og de dermed forbundne fond (Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi) 
Useful Links