About the Gilman Society

The Charlotte Perkins Gilman Society was founded in 1990 by Elaine R. Hedges and Shelley Fisher Fishkin.  The purpose of the Society is “to encourage interest in Charlotte Perkins Gilman and the issues that she explored.”  The Society, which is officially affiliated with the American Literature Association and the Society for the Study of American Women Writers, fosters the formal presentation of ideas about Gilman and her work as well as the informal exchange of information among Society members.  The membership adopted bylaws governing the Society at the annual business meeting of the Gilman Society at the American Literature Association Conference in San Diego, California, in May 1998.

Membership is open to anyone who supports the purpose of the Charlotte Perkins Gilman Society.  Membership dues are as follows:

Standard Membership: $10.00

International Membership: $15.00

Student Membership: $5.00

Lifetime Membership: $150.00

To join, please print and fill out the membership form and send it, with payment, to the address indicated. You may also submit your information and payment electronically.

The Gilman Society distributes a newsletter each spring, which features short articles, a list of recent publications, calls for papers, reviews, notes, and news.  The Society also sponsors sessions at various conferences, most notably at the annual American Literature Association Conference.  The Society sponsors an international conference on Charlotte Perkins Gilman which takes place every four to five years.

Current Society Officers


 Sari Edelstein
 English Department
 University of Massachusetts-Boston
 100 Morrissey Blvd. 

 Boston, MA 02125

Executive Director

Peter Betjemann    
Department of English
Oregon State University
Moreland Hall
Corvallis, OR 97331

Vice President for Publications

 Heidi Silcox
           University of Oklahoma
           Department of English
           760 Van Vleet Oval
           Gittinger Hall
           Norman, OK 73019-2055
Website Administrator

           Larisa Schumann Asaeli
           Texas Christian University
           Department of English
           TCU Box 297270
           Fort Worth, TX 76129

Website Contributions

           Brandi So

            Stony Brook University

            English Department

            Humanities Bldg.

            Stony Brook, NY 11794-5350


            Jacquelyn Markham

            Associate Professor of English

            Ashford University