Frontiers in CMP 2019

This two-day meeting is supported by the IOP Low Temperature, Magnetism and Superconductivity Groups and will be held in the School of Physics at the University of Bristol on the 10th-11th January 2019.
The focus will be on new developments in the fields of hard electronic condensed matter, encompassing superconductivity, magnetism, 2D materials, strong spin-orbit systems and beyond. It is organised and supported by the UK's two EPSRC funded Centre's for Doctoral Training in Condensed Matter Physics: the CDT-CMP and the CM-CDT.

The conference is open to all researchers. We strongly encourage student participation from all related research groups in the UK and beyond.

This year we have a free public lecture open to all:

Prof. Sir Michael Berry
University of Bristol

6:30pm - 7:30pm, Thursday 10th January 2019,
Powell Lecture Theatre, H.H. Wills Physics Laboratory, 
University of Bristol.

Register for free tickets at

Key Dates
Abstract Submission deadline:    2 December 2018 
Registration deadline:                   16 December 2018

Notification of acceptance:               No later than 16 December 2018  

Organising committee:
Chris Bell (Bristol), Stephen Clark (Bristol), Sven Badoux (Bristol), 
Lewis Hart (Bath), Sven Friedemann (Bristol).