This page provides documentation on existing buildings that were part of Camp Fremont.
YMCA Building
Most of the WWI training camps had a YMCA building constructed with private funds. Apparently the design of the YMCA buildings were all very similar: one-story, L-shaped. In those days the Y served a religious (protestant Christian) as well as social function.
To the left is image 19:1113.
Note the automobile appears to be a ca. 1918 Ford.
The YMCA was located on a temporary road that ran between Santa Cruz and Middle Avenues, a little to the SW of today's San Mateo Dr. This road separated the tents of the soldiers to the SW from parade fields and Division Headquarters to the NE. The YMCA was on the corner of another temporary road than ran to the NE to University Drive aligned approximately with today's Fremont Place. So in image 19:1113, the photographer is looking roughly north.
Look at the map of Camp Fremont.
The YMCA building re-appeared after the repeal of Prohibition (1933) as the upper floor of a popular beer garden in Menlo Park, The Oasis.
The Hostess House (YWCA)
The Hostess House was a place where soldiers could meet visiting family and friends. After the war it was moved to Palo Alto (on University Avenue next to the train station) and used initially by community organizations including several veteran's groups. Today it is the site of MacArthur Park Restaurant. The restaurant's website has an interesting history section: scroll down to the bottom of the Home page, click on Read More at the History icon.