Navigation

Navigation

FAQ and Errata:


Disclaimer: None of the below can be taken as the "official"; Avalon-Hill (as we knew it) no longer exists so there is really no one to take over that role. I have merely lifted these from the WBC Breakout page. That said, most of below seems sensible or plausible to me so I will refer to it in case of some dispute. In addition, during the course of #6, myself and fellow assistant GM's did have to rule several times, so in the interest of consistency, I will post those rulings.

Interdiction: If the allied player must land against a fresh German CA that is not the invasion turn, must all allied units be predesignated? 

A. Yes. In effect, anytime there is German interdiction, it is handled exactly like on the invasion turn. So units are predesignated, their interdiction dr's made, and only then is movement allowed for the units that have passed. A consequence of this is that it is illegal for an allied unit to land and take out a fresh CA and thereby affect the interdiction chances of subsequent landing units.

Advancement of impulse marker during an air bombardment impulse: It is an allied air bombardment impulse and the DR calls for a weather change. Is the "next" impulse referred to in the rules the very next impulse declared by the German player (where the marker is "staying" on the very same number as when the allied player made his roll), or rather does it skip that impulse and does the actual weather change only occur when the impulse marker physically moves to the next number on the impulse track?

A. The former. Next refers to the very next impulse that the German player makes, and not merely to the physical movement of the marker along the track.

6. Sequence of Play:


6.5 - Can units move/regroup off the beaches to a Beach Approach Box?

A. No.


6.2 - If both players have a choice of placement for reinforcements, who has to commit himself first?

A. The German player.


6.2/6.5/19.5 - If the Allies vacate Merville or St. Mere Eglise in the Regroup Phase, leaving it uncontested and in German control, what happens to the reinforcing Airborne unit dropped there on the 7th?

A. Since it would have to assault without benefit of an impulse, it is not allowed. The reinforcement would have to go to the Offshore Box instead and could land only over the beaches and only on or after the 8th.


6.3 - Does the Daylight Phase end immediately after a failed Sunset DR, or may the Allied player finish that impulse first?

A. The latter. The Allied player could even declare a Double Impulse after seeing that the Sunset DR will end the day at the end of the current impulse.


6.3/11.23 - If an Assault dice roll which otherwise would end the current day kills enough units to earn daylight drms sufficient to alter that nightfall point to a number higher than the assault dice roll, does the day end?

A. Yes



6.4
- Errata The last sentence should read: "Any isolated German unit at the end of the German Refit Phase must make a Surrender dr (12.8).

7. Stacking & Control:

7.1 - If two adjacent areas both contain ten friendly units, can any of the units switch places during the Regroup Phase?

A. No

7.1 - May two Corps Artillery units in adjacent Areas switch places during the Regroup Phase?

A.  No.


8. Movement & Combat:

8.22 - Can the non-assaulting units in an Area which has just been cleared (but not overrun) by other units which started in that Area, seize bridges as though the Area were initially free even though the attacking units which failed to achieve an Overrun cannot?

A. Yes, but only after paying the required one or two MFs spent by the attacking units.


8.34 Errata: The first sentence should read: "Non-Armor units starting their impulse in a Contested Area may only move into a Free Area and must end their movement there."

8.4 - If the German declares a Double Impulse, would a unit moving through an Area containing fresh FLAK get the benefit of the FLAK screen even if the FLAK are in the second active area and will move later in that combined impulse?

A. Yes. The answer really has nothing to do with the fact that it is a Double Impulse. Even in a normal impulse, a unit could move out of its starting Area and then back into it and derive protection from a fresh FLAK unit in that Area which will also move in that impulse. The unit is fresh until it actually moves. Therefore, it can protect other units moving out of its Area until such time as it actually moves.



8.511
- There aren't enough bridge markers! What are the bridgeless river markers used for?

A. There are if you remove Allied bridge markers between Allied controlled Areas where they become unnecessary as instructed by the rules. People who run out of bridge markers are usually ignoring either this rule or the restriction against blowing bridges with no enemy in an adjacent Area. The river markers without bridges are used to mark successful Allied river crossings of boundaries without a bridge so that if they cross that boundary again they need not make a Mandatory Assault.


8.511 - If a German-owned bridge is seized, then destroyed by the Allies, is the river crossed by that bridge Allied-controlled (so that German units crossing it into a Contested Area must make a Mandatory Assault?

A. Yes. It should be marked with a I-River marker.


8.53 - Can an artillery unit support a subsequent attack following an overrun if it could not support the Overrun attack because it was not in or adjacent to the Area Overrun?

A. Yes. An artillery unit can join in to support overrunning units anytime. They do not have to be part of the initial attack force.


8.53 Can an artillery unit supporting an assault into bocage continue to support other asssaults by units elsewhere during the same impulse?

A. No. Since Overruns cannot occur in bocage, any artillery that supports an assault into bocage cannot support other assaults later in the same Impulse.


8.54 - Can units in an Active Contested Area exit that Area before any Assault in that Area is resolved so as to avoid the 1 or 2 MF penalty for leaving the Area after it has been assaulted?

A. Yes. However, in doing so, they forfeit any possibility of avoiding the "Exit of Enemy-Occupied Area" restrictions should the subsequent Assault eliminate all defenders in the active Area.


9. Assault Resolution:

9.1/9.2
- Should individual brigades like the British 56th Infantry or the Canadian 2nd Armored Brigade be considered part of a division for Divisional Integrity or the ability to call in Divisional Artillery Support?

 A. No.


9.2F - If a Wehrmacht artillery unit supports an Assault by SS units, but no other Wehrmacht units participate, is one subtracted from the German AV?

A. Yes.

9.2F - If SS and Wehrmacht artillery combine in a bombardment, is one subtracted from the German AV? 

Yes.


9.41/9.61 - Does retreat after an Optional Assault reduce attacker losses?

A. No. All assaulting units in a failed assault become D1.

9.41/9.61 - May the attacker voluntarily retreat if he wins?

A. No.


9.62 - If the defender opts to take a voluntary retreat from an assault in which no CPs were inflicted on the defender, must the first unit to retreat be the primary defender?

A. No. Since the primary defender had to pay no CP losses it would be under no obligation to be the first unit to retreat in a voluntary retreat.


9.63/9.66 - Since it takes all MF to cross an unbridged river, can an infantry unit whose only retreat route is across a friendly, unbridged river and into a fully stacked Area continue to retreat further?

A. Yes. Retreats are not restricted by MF.


9.64 - When an area becomes fully stacked, must units continue to retreat through it rather than into an adjacent area which happens to be adjacent to more enemy controlled areas?

A. No


9.66 - Assume five units land, move through a Controlled Beach Area, and then lose a Mandatory Assault into an enemy-controlled Area. If the Beach Area can accept only two more units before becoming fully stacked, what happens to the other three?

A. They would be eliminated, unless there is another Allied-controlled or contested Area which they can retreat directly into.


10. Bombardment:

10.12 - Can a bombardment target a D2 unit?

A. Yes. The bombardment will do no damage to the D2 unit, but any APs inflicted will "slide off" and must be applied to other units in the area that are not yet D2. The defender would choose which additional unit(s) are affected so long as the APs inflicted are fully used. This, by the way, is not just an ad hoc ruling, but was fully the intent of the design. The shielding of artillery from bombardments was never meant to be absolute .... it's shielding was limited to being selected as the primary target only to simulate the difficulty of finding such hidden targets. When affected by additional APs sliding off the primary target it is assumed to have been hit by counter battery fire as a result of evoking a reaction to the main bombardment.


10.4 - Does a Spent Coastal Artillery unit absorb one or two APs?

A. Two.


11. The Advantage:

11.24/11.4
- Can the Sunset DRM change by more than three during a Double Impulse?

A. No.


11.4 - Is a Double Impulse one or two impulses?

A. One.

11.4 - If an Area is attacked in the first impulse of a Double Impulse, can it be entered in the second impulse of that Double Impulse?

A. No.


11.4 May a player bombard an area, then use the Advantage to assault the same area with units which began the impulse in that area?

A. Yes


11.4 May a player see the results of his first assault in an Impulse before declaring a Double Impulse to combine forces from the first Area with those from a different Area to assault a single Area? For example, may the Allied player wait to see how an assault against Sword Beach turns out before declaring a Double Impulse to activate Juno Beach and assault Caen with the forces from both Sword and Juno?

A. Yes. The Area where the first assault occurred may not be assaulted again by the combined force though.


11.6 - If a player uses the Advantage to declare a Double Impulse, can he still use the Advantage to force a re-roll during that Double Impulse?

A. No. He loses the Advantage immediately when it is used in the sense that he cannot use it again, but the opponent gains it only at the end of the impulse - or in this case - the Double Impulse.


12. Disruption and Supply:

12.5
This rule says that a supply line consists of a chain of friendly areas, whether or not contested. Can a German depot be placed in an Area to which there is a supply line even if that supply line contains friendly contested Areas?

A. No. The rule prohibiting the Allies from tracing a supply line from a beach to the depot through contested Areas applies to the Germans as well.



12.71
- If the Germans regain control of a Beach which is subsequently Contested (but not yet Controlled) by the Allies, can the Allies use a Depot in that Beach to supply units in that Beach Area?

A. No


12.71 - What happens when a British beach is controlled by the Americans, or vice versa?

A. The depot could not be placed in or traced to that beach, but the supplies could still be banked for use in buying an impulse.

12.71 - If a beach is German controlled and uncontested anytime after June 6th can it be amphibiously assaulted again?

A. No.

12.71 - Can it be Amphibiously assaulted in a subsequent impulse of June 6th?

A. Yes.

12.71 - What happens to the supply of a beach which is German controlled and uncontested?

A. It ceases to exist until the day after that beach is again controlled by the Allies.


12.9 - Can more than one Air Supply die roll be pre-designated to the same unit to increase the chance of a refit?

A. No.


13. Regrouping:

13.
- Can US units regroup into British-controlled Areas and vice versa?

A. Yes

13 - Can units regroup from a Contested Area?

A. Yes.
-

14. Zones:

14.1
- Can units be regrouped from a free zone to an adjacent contested zone?

A. No

14.1 - From a free area to an adjacent contested zone?

A.  No


15. Fortifications:

15.2
- If all Allied units on a beach become D1 after an unsuccessful amphibious assault, but any become Spent during the Refit Phase, is the beach fortification destroyed?

A. Yes.


19. Reinforcements:

19.2
- Do reinforcements scheduled to arrive in a zone still do so if it is contested?

A. Yes


19.4 - Can 1/919 retreat off Utah if the attacker is stopped by interdiction so no assault roll is made?

A. No. 19.4 defines a spent or disrupted unit as incapable of attack so no assault has occurred and the defender cannot therefore take a voluntary retreat.


19.4/21.5 - "If the [interdiction dr] is equal to the interdiction value, the unit becomes Spent in the beach area...." However, if all the other units making a mandatory assault in that impulse lose the assault - or there are no uninterdicted units left to even make the assault, all landing units are D1 - not spent.

19.4 - If there is no applicable coastal interdiction, can allied units be sent ashore without first pre-designating all units that will land during that Impulse such that the allied player can see the outcome of a landing unit's move before deciding whether to land another unit?

A. Yes - provided the beach hex is not enemy-occupied.

20. Bridges:

20.1
Does a bridge controlled by a side contesting - but not controlling - the area on one side of that bridge lose control of that bridge automatically if it loses control of the other side of the bridge?

A.
No - contrary to 20.1 - which should refer to both Areas becoming Free rather than just "friendly controlled".

20.21 - If a side tries to repair a bridge that already has an opposing +1 Construct marker on it, do they get the benefit of the existing Construct marker's drm on their repair attempt?

A. No. Assuming their attempt failed, both sides would have a +1 Construct marker on the bridge site.


21. D-Day:

21.5
- If an amphibious assaulting unit becomes "D1" due to Coastal Artillery Interdiction, does it become "D2" if the Amphibious Assault fails?

A. No.


21.6 & Setup Card: Can Field Artillery units land in an Optional Assault on a contested beach once the fortification has been destroyed?

A. Yes


22. Victory Conditions:

22.3
- If the only Supply Source for a Victory Point Area is a contested beach, do the Allies get credit for that Victory Point Area?

A. No. Supply and supply lines can be traced through a contested Area to the source, but a Contested Beach cannot supply anything outside its own Area. Similarly, supply cannot be traced from a British-controlled Area to a U.S. beach for Victory Point purposes.


22.4 Victory Points: 9.6 VPs or higher are required for an Allied win. Rule 22.4 is modified to award a Victory Point to the Allies for contesting areas worth 7 VPs. Claiming that VP does not prevent the Allied player from also fulfilling the ".6" portion of the VC by contesting more areas worth an additional 6 VPs.

24. Extended Game:

24.5
If the Storm has already occurred before June 19th, what is the scheduled weather on June 19th?

A. Overcast.


24.6 What does the "2" mean on the back of the Allied Supply markers?

A. The Storm value of Allied Beach depots as described in 24.6.

Comments