The Authentic Brahms

Clarinet sonata Opus 120 Nr1 f-moll (1894)

  1. Allegro appassionato

  2. Andante un poco Adagio

  3. Allegretto grazioso

  4. Vivace

Clarinet sonata Opus 120 Nr2 Es-dur (1894)

  1. Allegro amabile

  2. Allegro appassionato

  3. Andante con moto

Four Piano Pieces Opus 119 (1892);1-4

  1. Intermezzo, Adagio

  2. Intermezzo, Andantino un poco agitato

  3. Intermezzo, Grazioso e giocoso

  4. Rhapsodie, Allegro risoluto

Johannes Brahms felt attracted to the underlying ideas in Baroque compositions, like Bach's music. Equal to the Baroque composers he preferred structure above emotions. Brahms based his compositions on the craftsmanship of the 'Baroque ' masters: Saying that elaboration is superior to the creative imagination"

Brahms composed Opus 119 and Opus 120 after he retired from his active music career. He asserted to his friends, that he would from then on, only compose for his own pleasure. With the same motivation and ambition Margriet Simmerling and Hans Bik devoted themselves to the study of the works.


Margriet Simmerling graduated from the Conservatories in Utrecht and Amsterdam with a solo degree for clarinet and bass clarinet. Her musical tradition stems from the 'Concert Gebouw' Orchestra in Amsterdam. She joined master classes with experts in chamber music: Herman Braune, George Pieterson, Harry Sparnaay, Eli Goren and members of the Orlando String Quartet. She worked with composers as Karl Heinz Stockhausen, Tristan Keuris and Carlos Michans. Her earlier performances of the Brahms sonatas, were broadcast by radio and television.

Hans Bik graduated from the Conservatory in Den Haag with a solo degree for piano. He received the 'C-Fock' award. His musical approach stems from the traditional German romantic school. He followed conductor classes with Karl Mengelberg, and at the 'Sommerakademie Mozarteum' in Salzburg. He performed as piano soloist, conductor and teacher in Germany and the Netherlands. In the past forty years he played the highlights of the piano literature. Throughout his long outstanding career, his aim is to fully grasp the real meaning of a composition; the artist as a medium to bring the authentic composition alive.

Sound editing, Piet Kommers

This disc can be ordered at: Helix5; The Netherlands. E-mail: