Subfactors in Sydney 2019

Subfactors in Sydney:

Operator algebras, representation theory, quantum field theory

4-8 February, 2019, UNSW, Sydney, Australia


Subfactors in Sydney will be held at the University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia from Monday the 4th to Friday the 8th of February 2019. The main topic of the conference is about Jones subfactor theory and its connections with various fields of mathematics and physics including group theory, quantum computing, quantum topology and the aforementioned fields.

Practical information

All talks will be given in Room 4082 (4th floor) of the Red Center Building, East Wing (inside the school of Mathematics and Statistics), on Kensington campus of University of New South Wales Sydney.

The coffee breaks will be in the same building one floor down in Room 3082.

Here is a map of the campus with an arrow on the entrance of the building: map.

The campus of UNSW is between the international Sydney airport and the city business center and can be easily reached by public buses from any suburbs of the city.

Here are some possible accomodations:

By the campus of UNSW:

Randwick Lodge:

Perouse Lodge:

New College rooms:

By Coogee bay that is at 3 km from the campus and a quick ride by public buses (use bus number 314/370/372/373/M50):

Coogee Sand Hotel and apartment:


It is required to have a visa for traveling to Australia. You can apply online on the website:

Depending on your nationality you should get either a eVisitor visa (subclass 651) or a Electronic Travel Authority (subclass 601).


We are required to charge a small registration fee, payable upon arrival, which we intend to use to subsidise the conference dinner.

Fees will be:

-50 AUD;

-40 AUD if you are a AMSI or AustMS members;

-Free for speakers.

It is required by AMSI that every participant (including speakers) fill the following form: Form.

Female researchers are particularly encouraged to participate.

The Australian Mathematical Society (AustMS) funds the Cheryl E. Praeger Travel Awards

for female mathematicians, as well as the Anne Penfold Street Awards for carers.


Daniel Barter (Australian National University, Canberra, Australia)

Dietmar Bisch (Vanderbilt University, USA)

Zsuzsanna Dancso (University of Sydney, Australia)

Colleen Delaney (UCSB, USA)

Michael Freedman (Microsoft Quantum - Santa Barbara, USA)

Terry Gannon (University of Alberta, Canada)

Iva Halacheva (University of Melbourne, Australia)

Vaughan Jones (Vanderbilt University, USA)

Yasuyuki Kawahigashi (University of Tokyo, Japan)

Gus Lehrer (University of Sydney, Australia)

Galina Levitina (UNSW Sydney, Australia)

Roberto Longo (University of Rome-Tor Vergata, Italy)

Magdalena Musat (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)

Arun Ram (University of Melbourne, Australia)

David Ridout (University of Melbourne, Australia)

Andrew Schopieray (UNSW Sydney, Australia)

Alexander Stottmeister (University of Münster, Germany)

James Tener (Australian National University, Canberra, Australia)

Makoto Yamashita (University of Oslo, Norway)

Andrzej Zuk (University of Paris Diderot, France)

We will have a conference dinner Thursday the 7th at 6:30 pm at Barzura restaurant: 62 Carr St Coogee Beach NSW 2034.


The organisers are Arnaud Brothier, Pinhas Grossman, Scott Morrison, Julia Plavnik, Andrew Schopieray and James Tener.

For logistical questions, please contact Arnaud Brothier at


The organisers gratefully acknowledge support from the Australian Mathematical Science Institute, the School of Mathematics and Statistics at UNSW Sydney and the Australian Mathematical Society.

This event is sponsored by the Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute (AMSI). AMSI allocates a travel allowance annually to each of its member universities (for list of members, see Students or early career researchers from AMSI member universities without access to a suitable research grant or other source of funding may apply to the Head of Mathematical Sciences for subsidy of travel and accommodation out of the departmental travel allowance.