Social Studies--What did we do today?

****Throughout the year: If you lose a worksheet or are absent, worksheets will be available here via a link (look for underlined text) or in Google Classroom or in the Chapter Activities, Projects, and Worksheets section in the McGraw-Hill on-line program (if you are having trouble finding the book on-line, there is a help video posted in Google Classroom on 9/3).

****If you are absent, be sure to turn in make-up work to the tray and/or get it stamped when you return in a timely manner.

Quizlet.com

Assignments are due the next day unless otherwise noted.

***Chapter 3 Test: Friday, November 15

Tuesday, November 12:

  • Warm-up
  • Go over GR Lesson 4
  • Economics of History Lesson 4 The Exchange of Goods and Ideas
  • Vocabulary Part C (finish for homework)

Friday, November 8:

  • Warm-up
  • Go over Building an Empire, Two Unusual Pharaohs, Recovery and Decline
  • Lesson 4 GR The Nubians #1-6, The Kushite Empire #7-9 (pp. 99-105)--finish for homework

Thursday, November 7:

  • Warm-up
  • Go over GR A Golden Age
  • Middle East Map Test
  • GR Building an Empire #4-6, Two Unusual Pharaohs #7-8, Recovery and Decline #9-13 (pp. 92-98)--Finish for homework
  • Did slaves build the Great Pyramid? due tomorrow by 8 AM in Google Classroom

Wednesday, November 6:

  • Ch3L3 Overview Presentation
  • GR A Golden Age #1-3, pp. 90-92
  • Middle East Map Test tomorrow

Tuesday, November 5:

  • Continue: Did slaves build the Great Pyramid?
  • Did slaves build the Great Pyramid? paragraph in Google Classroom--due by 8 AM Friday

Monday, November 4:

  • Warm-up
  • Go over and turn in Middle East Map Review
  • Start Did Slaves Build the Great Pyramid? Primary Source Activity--we will continue this in class tomorrow

Friday, November 1:

  • Warm-up
  • Go over GR Pyramid Tombs and Daily Life
  • Middle East Map Review--due Monday
  • 7 Wonders Video (Giza pyramid and Hanging Gardens)

Tuesday, October 29:

  • Warm-up
  • Go over GR Egypt's Early Rulers and Religion in Egypt
  • GR Pyramid Tombs #5-8 and Daily Life #9-10 (pp. 83-87)--finish for homework
  • Middle East Map Review--due Thursday

Monday, October 28:

  • Ch3L2 Overview Presentation
  • GR Egypt's Early Rulers #1-2 and Religion in Egypt #3-4, pp. 75-80 (finish for homework)

Friday, October 25:

  • Economics of History Activity: Scarcity and Ancient Egyptian Farmers

Thursday, October 24:

  • Warm-up
  • Go over GR People of the River and Uniting Egypt
  • Lesson 1 Geography and History Activity: Understanding Location #1-7 (complete before end of period)

Wednesday, October 23:

  • Warm-up
  • Go over GR The Nile River Valley #1-7
  • GR People of the River #8-9, pp. 70-72 and GR Uniting Egypt #10-11, pp. 72-74--finish for homework

Tuesday, October 22:

  • Warm-up
  • Go over Chapter 2 Test
  • Go over Ch3 Vocabulary Parts A and B
  • GR The Nile River Valley #1-7, pp. 63-69--finish for homework

Monday, October 21:

  • Introduction to ancient Egypt: presentation
  • Ch3 Vocabulary Parts A and B

Friday, October 18:

  • Turn in Chapter 2 Packet/warm-ups
  • Chapter 2 Test

Thursday, October 17:

  • Warm-up
  • Watch Animoto Videos
  • Kahoot Review
  • Chapter 2 Test tomorrow, packet/warm-ups stapled to back due tomorrow

Wednesday, October 16:

  • Warm-up
  • Go over Vocabulary Part C
  • Finish Animoto Videos

Tuesday, October 15:

  • Warm-up
  • Animoto
  • Vocabulary Part C (last page of Chapter 2 Packet)--due tomorrow

Monday, October 14:

  • Warm-up
  • Finish Hammurabi's Code Activity in Google Classroom
  • Chapter 2 Power Square: Front--Draw a colored picture representing power from the chapter and write 2 or more sentences about power. Use the word "power" in your sentences, and be sure to use good grammar, spelling, and punctuation. Back: Write your name, period, and date. (finish for homework if not completed in class)

Friday, October 11:

  • Warm-up
  • Go over GR The Chaldean Empire
  • Continue Hammurabi's Code Activity--See Google Classroom for final part of assignment. We will finish this on Monday in class.

Thursday, October 10:

  • Warm-up
  • Go over GR The Assyrian Empire
  • Primary Source The Code of Hammurabi
  • Hammurabi's Code Activity (we will continue this tomorrow)
  • GR The Chaldean Empire #1-3 pp. 54-57 (finish for homework)

Tuesday, October 8:

  • Warm-up
  • Go over GR The First Empires
  • GR The Assyrian Empire #1-4 pp. 52-53 (due at end of period) and start "The Chaldean Empire" #1-3 pp. 54-57 (we will continue this on Thursday)

Monday, October 7:

  • Go over and turn in Middle East Map
  • Ch2L2--Overview of lesson, The First Empires #1-7 pp. 49-51 (finish for homework)

Friday, October 4:

  • Mesopotamia Video (period 7 only)

Thursday, October 3:

  • Middle East Map (see Google Classroom for an extra copy of the list and map)--finish for homework

Wednesday, October 2:

  • Go over Standard of Ur
  • Cuneiform

Tuesday, October 1:

  • Continue Standard of Ur (finish for homework)

Friday, September 27:

  • Go over Ch2L1 GR The First Civilization in Mesopotamia, Sumer's Civilization, Sumerian Contributions
  • Start Standard of Ur Activity (see Google Classroom for assignment)--we will continue this on Tuesday

Thursday, September 26:

  • Africa Map Test
  • Geography and History Activity: Bartering--complete in class
  • GR The First Civilization in Mesopotamia, Sumer's Civilization, Sumerian Contributions (continue from yesterday)--due tomorrow

Wednesday, September 25:

  • GR The First Civilization in Mesopotamia #1-5, Sumer's Civilization #1-9, Sumerian Contributions #1-3, pp. 38-46 (due Friday)
  • Study for tomorrow's Africa Map Test

Tuesday, September 24:

  • Go over Chapter 1 Test
  • Go over Chapter 2 Vocabulary Parts A and B
  • GR The First Civilization in Mesopotamia #1-5, pp. 38-40

Monday, September 23:

  • Intro. to Ch2L1
  • Finish (in class) Chapter 2 Vocabulary Part A Content Vocabulary and Part B Academic Vocabulary

Friday, September 20:

  • Go over and turn in Africa Map Review Worksheet
  • Watch Animoto Videos
  • Chapter 2 Vocabulary Part A Content Vocabulary and Part B Academic Vocabulary

Thursday, September 19:

  • Turn in Chapter 1 Packet/warm-ups
  • Chapter 1 Test
  • Africa Map Review worksheet--finish for homework

Wednesday, September 18:

  • Go over Combined Vocabulary Reinforcement Part C
  • Finish Animoto Videos
  • Chapter 1 Test tomorrow and packet (with warm-ups stapled to back) due

Tuesday, September 17:

Monday, September 16:

  • Power Square--Front: Draw a colored picture representing power from the chapter and write 2 or more sentences about power. Use the word "power" in your sentences, and be sure to use good grammar, spelling, and punctuation. Back: Write your name, period, and date. Turn in at end of period.
  • Combined Vocabulary Reinforcement Part C (last page of packet)--finish for homework

Friday, September 13:

  • Warm-up
  • Go over Ch1L3 GR Civilizations Emerge
  • Start working on Animoto videos--we will continue this next week
  • Chapter 1 Test is next week: Thursday, September 19

Thursday, September 12:

  • Warm-up
  • Go over Ch1L3 GR Neolithic Times and Life in Neolithic Age
  • Ch1L3--GR Civilizations Emerge (p. 16 in packet), pp. 28-29 in book, slides 9-10--Finish for homework

Wednesday, September 11:

  • Ch1L3--GR Neolithic Times and Life in Neolithic Age (pp. 14-top of 16 in packet), pp. 21-27 in book, slides 1-8--Finish for homework

Tuesday, September 10:

  • Cave Art--in class, turn in at end of period

Monday, September 9:

  • Warm-up
  • Cave art--video, slide presentation
  • Time to work on flash cards/study
  • Try to bring a brown paper bag (any size) and color pencils/crayons tomorrow

Friday, September 6:

  • Warm-up
  • Go over GR The Paleolithic Age and The Ice Ages (pp. 8-9)
  • 21st Century Skills (pp. 12-13 in packet)
  • Try to bring a brown paper bag on Monday (any size)

Thursday, September 5:

  • Ch1L2--Early Tools (pp. 10-11 in packet), finish GR The Paleolithic Age (p. 8 in packet) and do GR The Ice Ages (read pp. 19-20 in book, p. 9 in packet)--finish for homework

Wednesday, September 4:

  • Finish Ardi video/notes and turn in
  • Ch1L2--Slides 1-6, pages 13-19, GR The Paleolithic Age page 8 in packet (will continue tomorrow)

Tuesday, September 3:

  • Continue Ardi video/notes

Friday, August 30:

  • Go over Richard Leakey on Human Origins IJ
  • Start Ardi video/notes

Thursday, August 29:

  • Warm-up
  • Go over and turn in Africa Map
  • Go over GR pp. 4-5
  • Start Richard Leakey on Human Origins IJ (pages 6-7 in packet)--we will finish this in class tomorrow

Wednesday, August 28:

  • Warm-up
  • Go over GR The Great Apes
  • Ch1L1: Slides 3-10, pp. 6-12 in book, GR Who Are Our Earliest Ancestors and Modern Humans #6-11 (pp. 4-5 in packet)--finish for homework
  • Africa Map due tomorrow

Tuesday, August 27:

  • Warm-up
  • Go over Chapter 1 Vocabulary Parts A and B
  • Ch1L1: Slides 1-2, pp. 1-6 in book, GR The Great Apes #1-5 (page 3) in packet--finish for homework

Monday, August 26:

  • Chapter 1 Introduction
  • Chapter 1 Vocabulary Part A Content Vocabulary and Part B Academic Vocabulary--pages 1-2 in packet (finish both pages for homework)

***If you need new copies of any of the packet worksheets throughout the chapter, you will find them in the Chapter Activities, Projects, and Worksheets section of the on-line McGraw-Hill Program.

Friday, August 23:

  • Go over and turn in Historian's Toolkit pp. HT24-30 answers
  • Africa map--due Thursday (see Google Classroom for a copy of map and list)

Thursday, August 22:

  • Historian's Toolkit: Read pp. HT24-30, answer Thinking Like Historian Question #2 on page HT27, and #1 and #2 on pages HT29 and HT30 (finish for homework)

Wednesday, August 21:

  • Finish Lunchroom Fight II--discuss Evidence Context Handout and write Suspension Report (turn in at end of period)

Tuesday, August 20:

  • Finish "Make Your Case"
  • Lunchroom Fight II--we will finish this tomorrow

Monday, August 19:

  • Finish "Evaluating Sources"
  • Start "Make Your Case"--we will continue this tomorrow

Friday, August 16:

  • "Lunchroom Fight"
  • Start "Evaluating Sources"--we will continue this on Monday

Thursday, August 15:

  • Geography and History Activity: Historian's Toolkit--complete in class and turn in
  • Read Historian's Toolkit pp. HT19-HT23 (finish for homework)

Wednesday, August 14:

  • Go over Oak Park "Brochure"
  • Read Historian's Toolkit pp. HT12-16
  • Watch Brainpops: Map Skills and Latitude and Longitude

Tuesday, August 13:

  • Continue work on Oak Park "Brochure"--we will finish this up in class tomorrow

Monday, August 12:

  • Archaeology video
  • Historian's Toolkit pp. HT9-HT12
  • Start Oak Park "Brochure"

Friday, August 9:

  • Historian's Toolkit pp. HT1-HT9
  • "When Did It Happen?" and Human Timeline

Thursday, August 8:

  • Introduction to Social Studies book/on-line program
  • Textbook Scavenger Hunt
  • 6th Grade Requirements/Responsibilities Letter due tomorrow (from Tuesday)
  • Partnership Letter due tomorrow (from Tuesday)

Wednesday, August 7:

Tuesday, August 6: