NOMMA Special Education

The Department of Special Education at New Orleans Military & Maritime Academy is comprised of certified Special Educators, Related Service Providers, Evaluation Specialists and Support Personnel committed to provide the necessary, specialized instruction to identified cadets so that progress in the general education curriculum is achieved.

We are committed to providing the highest quality services and instruction to identified Cadets so they graduate NOMMA and are ready to meet their post-secondary goals.

What is Special Education?

Special Education is NOT a place. Special Education is a set of services that can occur in many environments, including the regular classrooms. Eligible Cadets are provided services in the "Least Restrictive Environment (LRE)", and the LRE is the regular education classroom.

Cadets identified needing special education services are not automatically removed from their classes. Just the opposite, NOMMA follows a very inclusive model for all Cadets. The Diploma Pathway they are currently working toward does not have to change. Cadets can receive a Regular High School Diploma and earn TOPS, Jumpstart/TOPS, or Jumpstart Career Diploma via Alternative Methods (for those who qualify).

All decisions for the student are made by the IEP Team, which includes the parent/guardian, and nothing can change without Parental Consent.

Contact the Special Education Department with any questions

Your Special Education Team

2022-2023 School Year

Grade Level Special Education Teachers

8th Grade: Ms. Sharon Sonnier ssonnier@nomma.net

9th Grade: Ms. Heather Crutchfield hcrutchfield@nomma.net

10th Grade: TBD

11th Grade: TBD

12th Grade: Mr. Frederick Myles fmyles@nomma.net


Special Programming and Related Services

Special Education Teacher: Ms. Mary Hadley mhadley@nomma.net

Teacher of the Deaf/Hard of Hearing: Mrs. Ann Heurtin aheurtin@nomma.net

Paraeducator & ASL Interpreter: Mrs. Tammy Cooper tcooper@nomma.net

OT: Ms. Jenny Domiano; COTA: Ms. Annie Reso OT@nomma.net

Speech Therapist: Mrs. Kathy Patterson kpatterson@nomma.net

Director of Special Education: Mrs. Heather Desrochers hdesrochers@nomma.net

NOMMA Program Description Template 2022-23.pdf

NOMMA Program Description

Description of Special Education Services and Supports identified for the 2022-23 School Year.

SEPAC

SEPAC (Special Education Parent Advisory Committee) meets three times each year. Members include Parents and Special Education Providers.

The purpose of the NOMMA SEPAC is to is to provide direct input to school leaders about policies, programs, practices, and services that have an impact on students with disabilities and their families. Its purpose is to advise, advocate, and offer guidance, not to decide policy. It is the goal of the NOMMA SEPAC to increase the proactive, productive involvement of families by inviting their input in ways that can be used to shape NOMMA’s special education policy.

For any questions or recommendations, please contact Mrs. Heather Desrochers at hdesrochers@nomma.net