Congratulations Laney Bucs!

Congrats to Jordan Juanes who has committed to play Volleyball for William Peace University. She has also received the Presidential scholarship & Academic Excellence Award for 4 years

Congrats to the Laney's Women's Golf Team on their 6th Conference Championship in a row!

Congratulations to


Spring 2021

National Honor Society Inductees

Brenna Abel

Morgan Adam

Kristin Ammons

Abby Arcuri

Beatrice Babel

Isis Banks

Amanda Beckman

Emily Beckman

Madison Brinson

Kaitlynn Bryand

James Buckingham

Emily Bullock

Erin Bullock

Katelyn Carapezza

Emma Carr

Lansi Chuong

Annabelle Clary

Tala Cottle

Kenan Cottle

Crew Detamore

Nicole Dickerson

Sarah Diener

Kira Eldridge

Ava Eller

Martha Ferrell

Samantha Fullmer

Rebekah Garrett

Sariah Glew

Christani Green

Kaleb Hall

Blake Harrell

Brenna Haynes

Hanna Haynes

Ashley Hernandez- Cruz

Caroline Hill

Emma Jaffe

Charles Jones

Avery Jones

Chase Kelly

Audrey Kramer

Mary Scott Madigan

Katherine Maginnes

Kiarra Masnick

Briana McNeil

Maya McPartland

Audrey Monahan

Joseph Moran

Sydney Packer

Cristo Parada-Paz

Jackson Peed

Reese Peterken

Garrett Powell

Evan Rahe

Gavin Reider

Eli Rivera

Reagan Roberts

Robinson Rodney

Leena Rumora

Alexis Sanchez-Villafane

Seth Sblendorio

Mia Seidel

Hallie Shaver

Brooke Sommer

Nicole St. George

Ryoto Sugawara

Gage Thompson

Khanh Tran

Abigail Tripp

Elanor Van Slyke

Mason Vaughan

Micah Vollrath

Kaitlyn Walker

Connor Whitlow

Marshall Wiseman

Chloe Wright

Jamie Wurtzbacher

Miranda Zwack

Congrats to Grace Holcomb who has been awarded the Marilynn Smith Scholarship by the LPGA Foundation awarded to a female high school senior who will be playing golf at the collegiate level. Marilynn Smith was one of the 13 founding members of the LPGA.


The National PTA holds the Reflections contest each year. Students are encouraged to submit their completed works of art at the County level in one or all of the available arts categories: Dance Choreography, Film Production, Literature, Music Composition, Photography, Visual Arts. The theme for the 2020-2021 program year is I Matter Because...

In New Hanover County, Khloe Holloway, a Laney Senior, placed 1st in Visual Arts, and Jasmyn Walker, a Laney Sophomore, placed 1st in Film Production.

2020-21 Reflections State-Level Winners

I Matter Because…

Senior High School 1st Place Film Production: Jasmyn Walker, Emsley Laney High School, Wilmington

Coach Tynes lead the Women's Basketball team for over two decades and still coaches Golf and teaches at the school. During her time as the Women's Basketball coach, she recorded 423 wins and 189 losses.

Hannah Smith has committed to play lacrosse at Marymount University in Arlington, VA. She has been given the Dean’s Award and the Global Scholar Program Award for $27,000.00 annually. Hannah will be majoring in Graphic and Media Design.

Scholar Athletic Men's Teams

Fall 2020

1st Semester Results

Minimum 3.10 unweighted GPA

Men's Basketball-3.6

Men's XC-3.42

Men's Swimming-3.53

Men's LAX-3.13

Men's Soccer-3.20

We had a total of 279 athletes with at least a GPA of 3.50

Congratulations to Emma Lewis! Emma was awarded the Morehead-Cain Scholarship at @UNC . The scholarship provides a full ride, 4 yr scholarship & 4 summer experiences known as the Morehead-Cain's Summer Enrichment Program worth approximately $80,000

Remy Garay, a junior at E.A. Laney High School has been invited to participate in the College Board National Recognition Programs. The College Board National Recognition Programs are academic honors used by colleges to identify academically exceptional students. Remy earned the prestigious invitation by scoring in the top 2.5% on the PSAT NMSQT® among high school junior test-takers in our region who identify as one or more of the following: African American, Hispanic American or Latinx, Indigenous, or attend school in a rural area, or are from a small town.

Justin Davis, a senior at E.A. Laney High School has been awarded the SECU Foundation’s People Helping People scholarship. The SECU Foundation established the People Helping People four-year, $10,000 scholarship program to help North Carolina public high school students attend college. The scholarship recognizes academic achievement, leadership, integrity, and community involvement. Justin will attend North Carolina State University next year.

Congratulations to our Wrestling State Champions, Mark Samuel and Marcus Mondragon.

Kelsie Bennett has placed 1st in the State Reflections competition for her photography.

Congratulations to Coach Berting for Mideastern Conference Basketball Coach of the Year.

Bethany Taw receives nomination for NHCS Rookie of the Year!