LHS Attendance

Texas Education Code Section 25.092 states, “a student may not be given credit for a class unless the student is in attendance for at least 90 percent of the days the class is offered.” This means that students will need to make-up class time missed due to excessive absences. Even if your child has excused absences, he or she may be asked to make up class time to earn credit for classes.

Attendance Office # 512-570-1014

Changes for the 2022-2023 School Year!

See the school website https://lhs.leanderisd.org/ for more information on early release days, bell schedules, testing procedures and other staff contact information.

Home Access Center (HAC) information is located on the District website.  Home Access Center | Leander ISD .  

Follow the Smore link for Information regarding schedules and how to view attendance/grades, etc.  https://www.smore.com/prbt8

Please remember to enroll in Home Access Center (HAC) to check attendance and grades and enroll in Remind to receive notifications. 

Section 65.003 of the Texas Family Code states: (a) A child engages in truant conduct if the child is required to attend school under 25.085, Education Code, and fails to attend school on 10 or more days or parts of days within a six-month period in the same school year.

Regular and punctual attendance is the greatest single factor in school success. Texas Compulsory Attendance Law requires students to attend school regularly, unless otherwise exempted by law. It is the responsibility of the parent and student to cooperate and communicate with the school on all attendance matters. The key to high school graduation is strong school attendance and parental involvement. Proper documentation must be provided by the student and/or parent/guardian within 48 hours of the student’s return to school after an absence. See LISD Parent & Student Handbook for complete attendance policy. 



All students’ absences must be verified in writing by a parent. All absences are documented as unverified-unexcused absences are until written verification is received by the school. Written verification of the absence must be received by the school within two (2) days of the student’s return to school. It is best to submit a hand-written note directly to the attendance office. However, a scanned and E-mailed copy of a parent’s note is acceptable if sent from the parent’s E-mail address on file with the registrar. Upon receipt of written verification from a parent for a valid reason, the unverified-unexcused absence will be changed to an excused absence if it is within the current 6 week grading cycle; notes received outside of the current cycle will be added to the student's attendance file but no absences will be changed. Students and parents/guardians may check attendance and grade records for accuracy through their Home Access Center (HAC) account.

All verifications from parents should include the following information:

Excused Absences:

Unexcused Absences:

Verification of Enrollment (VOE)

Verification of Enrollment forms can be requested online at the LHS Website under 'Resources/Student Resources' or at https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSflqQn-CF7UkNuXV-8xlUZC6HJZCarjFLgT031PHBnrQCx0hw/viewform and can be picked up in the 1100s office from Caity Jacoby within 24-48 hours after request.  A VOE will be issued as long as the student DOES NOT owe hours due to absences.

Hours Owed/Make-up Attendance Hours

Any student who does not attend 90% of the days a class is offered (excused or unexcused) will be required to make-up attendance hours. Students and/or parents will be notified of the hours a student owes and a plan will be developed with the administration on acceptable ways the student may make-up the hours owed.  The Hours Owed form is located on the Leander High School website under "Resources/Student Resources" or https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfqG-fvv-BvmWJ7dBu-YK65ochWU71T99ieVgFJiUh-O7T6JA/viewform.  Students can contact Yvonne Chambliss in the 1400s office with questions.  

Once a student owes hours for a semester, every additional period or day they miss in that semester will accumulate more hours.  

-1 period missed = 1.5 hours owed                                       

- 1 day missed = 6 hours owed    



Two ways for students to request a permit to leave campus early: 


Leander High School attendance data is gathered by a third party company.  All emails and phone calls about missed classes/days are generated electronically by this company.


The District may excuse a student from attending school to visit an institution of higher education accredited by a generally recognized accrediting organization during the student’s junior and senior years of high school for the purpose of determining the student’s interest in attending the institution of higher education. The District may not excuse more than two (2) days during the student’s junior year and two (2) days during the student’s senior year. Official verification of the absence from the institution of higher education must be provided within 48 hours of the student’s return to school.