The 7th International Workshop on ICT Trends in Emerging Economies

(WICTTEE 2018)

held in conjunction with

International Conference on Computers in Education 2018

A Brief Description of the Workshop:

In response to the emerging research diversity, the SIG on Development of Information and Communication Technology in the Asia Pacific Neighbourhood (DICTAP) is organising a workshop on ICT Trends in Emerging Economies. The developmental growth of ICT in the Asia Pacific countries has been phenomenal in recent years as the Government of these countries have embarked on various ICT initiatives. Despite these efforts, the ICT development rate of each country has not been the same among countries from the low-income, lower-middle-income and upper-middle-income economies within the Asia Pacific region (hitherto referred to as underrepresented countries). In general, the ICT growth in these countries is only at the emerging or development stage.

This workshop aims to provide an interactive channel for interdisciplinary researchers and practitioners to present papers, communicate and discuss with one another on relevant issues regarding the ICT trends in developing countries. The workshop invites contributions from researchers who are from emerging economies* or those who are working on issues related to emerging economies* to share scholarly findings and professional insights in ICT development in the field of education. WICTTEE 2018 is planned as a full day workshop to be held either on the 26th November or 30th November 2018.

*List of countries as defined by the World Bank

Conference Dates:

November 26 to November 30, 2018 (Monday to Friday)

  • Pre-conference workshops & intweractive events (November 26-27, 2018)
  • Main conference (November 28-30, 2018)


Bayanihan Center, Manila, the Philippines

Scope of the Workshop:

The sub-conference on DICTAP invites contributions from researchers who are from under-represented countries* or those who are working on issues related to under- represented countries* to share scholarly findings and professional insights in ICT development in the field of education. The scope of this sub-conference will cover, but is not limited to the following areas:

  • E-learning policies and administration
  • Learning management systems
  • Blended & hybrid learning applications
  • Digital content development
  • Game & Simulation-based learning applications
  • Mobile/ubiquitous learning applications
  • Technological pedagogical and content knowledge (TPACK)
  • Technology-enhanced critical and creative thinking scaffolds
  • Teacher professional development
  • Life-long learning
  • Open educational resources (OER) & Masssive Open Online Courses (MOOC)

Paper Submission

Authors should prepare submissions in English. Email your full papers to (you will receive an acknowledgement within 48 hours). The maximum page length is 10 pages and authors should prepare papers using the Author Guidelines of ICCE 2018 provided at the conference website . Once the paper has been accepted, at least one author must register and be present at the workshop for the paper to be published. Please kindly submit your paper via e-mail to by August 17, 2018. Each paper will be blind-reviewed.

Important Dates

Paper submission deadline: August 17, 2018

Notification of paper acceptance/rejection: September 7, 2018

Final paper deadline: September 14, 2018

We welcome papers that report on accomplished research and work-in-progress. Papers of a more conceptual nature are also welcomed. Papers which illustrate technologies specifically customized to the contexts and needs of developing countries are greatly encouraged. All accepted papers will be indexed by Elsevier Bibliographic Databases (e.g. Scopus, Engineering Village and others).

Workshop Co-chairs:

Niwat Srisawasdi, Ph.D.

Khon Kaen University, Thailand (Chair)

Bo Jiang, Ph.D.

Zhejiang University of Technology, China (Co-chair)

Patcharin Panjaburee, Ph.D.

Mahidol University, Thailand (Co-chair)


Su Luan Wong, Ph.D.

Universiti Putra Malaysia, Malaysia

Mas Nida Md Khambari, Ph.D.

Universiti Putra Malaysia, Malaysia

PC members :

Baohui ZHANG (Nanjing University, China)

Charoenchai Wongwatkit (Mae Pha Luang University, Thailand)

Charuni Samat (Khon Kaen University, Thailand)

Ching Sing CHAI (National Institute of Education, Singapore)

Chun-Ping WU (Tamkang University, Taiwan)

Dechawut Wanichsan (Rambhai Barni Rajabhat University, Thailand)

Fang Fang CHUA (Multimedia University, Malaysia)

Gary WONG (Hong Kong Institute of Education, Hong Kong)

Henry ADORNA (University of the Philippines, Philippines)

Heru Agus SANTOSO (Dian Nuswantoro University, Indonesia )

Ian CHAI (Multimedia University, Malaysia)

Issara Kanjug (Khon Kaen University, Thailand)

Keith TAYNTON (Kyoto Sangyo University, Japan)

Mercedes T. RODRIGO (Ateneo de Manila University, Philippines)

Pham Nguyen CUONG (HCMC University of Science - Vietnam National University, Vietnam)

Priscilla MOSES (Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman, Malaysia)

Roberto LEGASPI (Osaka University, Japan)

Rommel FERIA (University of the Philippines, Philippines)

Rosnaini MAHMUD (Universiti Putra Malaysia)

Shaun NYKVIST (Queensland University of Technology, Australia)

Simon LAU (Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman, Malaysia)

Sumalee Chaijaroen (Khon Kaen University, Thailand)

Vahid ARYADOUST (National University of Singapore, Singapore)

Viraj KUMAR (PES University, India)

Wararat Wongkia (Mahidol University, Thailand)

Watcharee Ketpichainarong (Mahidol University, Thailand