Chicago District


Thank you to everyone who came to our first annual Professional Development Workshop!! It was an amazing day of learning and collaborating and we hope you all agree!!

The day wouldn’t have been possible without the help and support of Dr. Kimberly Malijak and Northeastern Illinois University who partnered with Chicago IAHPERD to host the event and create a day of learning where professionals and future professionals were able to collaborate and learn from one another!!

I would like to thank our amazing presenters who shared a wealth of knowledge with our members and shared some amazing resources that are available to all of us!!

Andy Pickett from OPENPHYSED.ORG

Andy an OPEN PhysEd Trainer and CPS Teacher and Chicago District High School PE Teacher of the Year shared how to best use the OPEN modules in your class and shared his favorite instant activities and fitness based activities from OPEN curriculum

Mark and Becky Foellmer – CBHPE.ORG

Mark IAHPERD President and Becky Northeastern District President introduced the website they created that is a hub of technology resources, implementation strategies, GIFS and activities from Health and PE teachers from all of the world have shared for PE and Health teachers to use for free! If you have access to a projector, chrome books or an IPAD there is something for you!

Victoria Otto from OPENPHYSED.ORG

Victoria one of my favorite OPEN PhysEd Trainer’s shared a wealth of resources available on the OPEN website and shared teambuilding and STEM related activities that are available in the OPEN PhysEd modules that can be used to reinforce skills being learned or as a warm-up activity at the start of class!

I hope that all participants were able to check-out the amazing vendors that came to share the resources their organization offers to Chicago Physical Education and Health Professionals! Thank you to these vendors for spending the day with us and offering high quality resources to PE teachers and students in our district!!

Northeastern Illinois University’s Health and PE Department


American Red Cross of Chicago

Bowlers Ed

Paddle Zlam

Catch.org- Catch My Breath Health Program

A special thank you to our generous donors and supporters who contributed to our event and raffle! We thank them for their support of the IAHPERD organization and thank them for bringing valuable resources and products to our teachers!

Catch.org- Catch My Breath Middle School Vaping Program

The Chicago Blackhawks Organization

US Games


If you attended the event I would love to hear your feedback!! Seeing this was the first of what I am hoping to be a many workshops we will be offering I am eager to know what you thought of the event and how we can improve our practice! If you have a moment to share your thoughts and ideas with us! Feedback Form

Checkout our brand NEW social media pages the first 25 follows will receive a special token of appreciation!!

Find @ChicagoIAHPERD on Facebook at fb.me/ChicagoIAHPERD

Follow Chicago IAHPERD on Twitter @ChicagoIAHPERD

Welcome Chicago District members!

Your membership in IAHPERD makes you eligible for many opportunities, including the following:

Recognition Awards:

Teacher of the Year Award

Administrator of the Year Award

Professional Development:

IAHPERD State Convention in St. Charles

Chicago IAHPERD Professional Development Workshop

Networking and Social Events:

Monthly Meetings

Quarterly Social Events

Summer Social and Awards Banquet


IAHPERD Program Enhancement Grant

There are so many opportunities offered through IAHPERD and Chicago IAHPERD and we invite you to get involved! We’re always happy to have new members at our meetings, socials and professional development wor and if you’re interested in becoming an active part of the Chicago District, we guarantee we can find a role for you!

Follow Chicago IAHPERD on Twitter Facebook and Instagram

The Chicago District is made up of the entire city of Chicago. The district in which you TEACH is the district to which you belong within IAHPERD.



Katrina Haynes

Clinton Elementary School



Michael Millikan

Perez Elementary School


Past President

Cliff Wagner



Lori Klein-Blazek

Jungman Elementary School



Zach Yaeger

Clinton Elementary School


Delegate At Large

Genaro Ramirez

Talkington Elementary School