Board of Directors

Your Elected Officers


Brian Westlake

Teacher, Berkmar HS

My name is Brian Westlake, and I am humbled by the opportunity to serve you and our association, the Gwinnett County Association of Educators, as your new president.  For nearly two decades, I have proudly taught social studies at Berkmar High School.  I consider myself a Georgian, but I grew up in Florida and moved here after serving four years in the United States Marine Corps and attending college at Florida State University.  I have been an active member of GCAE/GAE/NEA most of my career—serving on the board of both GCAE and GAE, and serving as a delegate to eight NEA Representative Assemblies.  I believe in the power of collective action to lift the voices of those rarely heard in policy making…the bus drivers, cafeteria workers, custodians, paraprofessionals, classroom teachers, media specialists, counselors, and other support staff who impact the lives of students everyday.  When we support those who serve students, our children benefit!  One of my proudest career moments was when my vision to reimagine public schools resonated with over 60,000 Georgians who trusted me with their vote for State School Superintendent.  I now look forward to working together with you to build the schools our children truly deserve!  In solidarity always and forever!

I'd be remiss if I did not thank our outgoing officers for their past service to our association.  Thank you!


Juliet Cassidy-Floyd

Teacher, Discovery HS

Hey, Y’all! Thank you for choosing me to be your VP of GCAE! I am a 20 year educator in grades 6-12, and Higher Education, I have been a steward of NEA, FEA, and two locals in Florida.  I have been a building rep, a local delegate, a FEA delegate, and on two bargaining committees.   During my two years in Gwinnett County I have been active with GCAE. I have been an acting VP, a delegate to GAE and NEA, and the chair of the organizing committee where we have increased membership by 25%.  We also hosted our first ever member appreciation picnic in May of 2021!  Our outreach has increased by 178%, earning us recognition within the county and the community. I am honored to be a voice for every Educational Professional where all policies are made.

On a personal note, I have five beautiful, adult children and two grandchildren with my husband of 25 years. I love to read, camp, and tour my new home of Gwinnett! I look forward to working with each of you as we rebuild this union into the largest professional organization within the state of GA!  


District II Director

Alison Cundiff

Teacher, Duluth MS

When you elected me as Director for District 2 in GAE, I was (and continue to be) honored and humbled by your readiness to step forward with me on behalf of our schools and students.  To ensure that GCAE's affairs are safely seen to at home, I am thankful for your vote electing me as Treasurer for the Gwinnett County Association of Educators.


District II DIrector

Dana Poole

Transportation Bus Manager, Collins Hill Cluster

As an Officer of GCAE, I look forward to being a much needed voice for Bus Mgrs., and Monitors.  I currently serve as a SPED Bus Driver for the Central and Collinshill Clusters, and it is with great honor that I continue to serve the GCPS Community with fellow Board Members.


Central Gwinnett Cluster Leader

Jennifer Wurschinger

Teacher, Central Gwinnett HS

I am happy to serve Gwinnett Association of Educators as Recording Secretary.  I have worked in Gwinnett County Public Schools as a social studies teacher for 15 years.  I currently teach social studies at Central Gwinnett High School.  I am committed to promoting pride and dignity among those who serve the students of Gwinnett County Public Schools.

Board of Directors

Melissa Biegler

Shiloh Cluster Leader

Teacher, Anderson-Livsey ES

Barbara Boyles

South Gwinnett Cluster Leader

Bus Driver, South Gwinnett Cluster

Frank Buckley

Discovery Cluster Leader

Teacher, Richards MS

Laura Cronic

Parkview Cluster Leader

Bus Driver, Parkview Cluster

Joe Gamble

Brookwood Cluster Leader

Teacher, Five Forks MS

April Gann

Collins Hill Cluster Leader

Teacher, Collins Hill HS

Leslie Grubbs

Grayson Cluster Leader

Teacher, Trip ES

Vance Harper

Duluth Cluster Leader

Bus Driver, Duluth Cluster

Veron "Captain Mike" Martin

Board Member

Bus Driver, Berkmar Cluster

Gissia Nunez

Organizing Committe Chair, GCAE FPE Treasurer

Teacher, ITC @ Berkmar HS

Elise Sheppard

Peachtree Ridge Cluster Leader

Teacher, Parsons MS

Sherri Thomas

Berkmar Cluster Leader

Teacher, Sweetwater MS

Jasmyne Thomas

Paraprofessional Representative At-Large

Paraprofessional, Sweetwater MS

Gail Thompson

Norcross Cluster Leader

Teacher, Chattahoochee ES

Char Wells

Meadowcreek Cluster Leader

Teacher, Meadowcreek ES