Officer Compliment/ complaint

compliment

If a Ferris ISD Police Department employee has done a great job and you want to say thanks, you may elect to do one of the following:

  • Complete a Compliment Form and submit it electronically.
  • Call (972)544-2349
  • Or visit the Ferris ISD Police Department during regular business hours at 601 FM 664, Ferris, TX 75125 and ask to speak with the Police supervisor.

Your comments will be forwarded through the employee's chain of command and then reviewed by the Chief of Police. After the review, a copy of your comments will be placed in the employees personnel file and the original will be provided to the employee.


complaint

The Ferris ISD Police Department recognizes the importance of protecting the community from employees who demonstrate acts of misconduct or exhibit behavior unfit for Law Enforcement, the need to protect employees from false allegations of misconduct, and the opportunity to assess the effectiveness of our policy and procedures.

Should you feel an employee has been involved in misconduct or are dissatisfied with our service, you may submit a complaint by:

  • Complete a Complaint form and submit electronically.
  • Contact the on-duty supervisor to make arrangements at (972)544-2349
  • Or visit the Ferris ISD Police Department during regular business hours at 601 FM 664, Ferris, TX 75125 and ask to speak with the Police supervisor.

Generally, complaints of a routine nature will be assigned to the employee's supervisor. More serious or complex matters will be processed through an Internal Affairs investigation.

Texas law requires that all complaints against Police Officers be in writing and signed by the person making the complaint. Complaints must generally be made within 30 days of the incident, unless special circumstances exist. The person affected must file the complaint; Other persons may give statements as witnesses.

False Complaints

Filing a false complaint against a Police Department employee is a violation of the Texas Penal Code, Section 37.02. If a person knowingly and intentionally makes a false statement under oath, or swears to the truth of a false statement previously made under oath, a person may be found guilty and punished by a fine of up to $4,000, confinement in jail up to one (1) year, or by fine and imprisonment.