Library News

April Book Theme Wall: The Wizard of Oz

by Kaylah Samona & Jimena Hernandez

The MS and HS students had the opportunity to participate in a Book Theme Wall bulletin board contest. All entries received a prize and the monthly winners will decorate the library. The March winner was Teagan Wharton with "Mystery in March." The library looked fantastic with spyglasses, question marks and detective hats hanging from the ceiling. She also placed "clues" in books throughout the library. The April winners are Kaylah Samona & Jimena Hernandez with a Wizard of Oz theme. The May winners are Olivia Keller, Annaliss Hicks and Dominic Mason. Their theme is Little House on the Prairie. (Pictures to follow each month.) Thank you to all who participated and for all the hard work the winners are putting into decorating.

March Winner: Teagan Wharton

Mystery in March

Entry Participants

Back row: Olivia Keller, Kaylah Samora, Ashley Heath, Claudia Alaniz, Maria Alaniz, Sayde Sharp

Middle Row: Taylor Fullen, Yozelyn Ojeda, Teagan Wharton, Chase Clark, Paul Standridge

Front Row: Jayton Wesley, Dionisio Vogt, Brady Bramlett, Dominic Mason

Not pictured: Hunter Boswell, Laike Kennedy, Paul Standridge, Jason Zamora, and Adam Mercer

Contest Winners

L-R: Kaylah Samora , Teagan Wharton, Olivia Keller, Adam Mercer

Kailey Vickers designed and created February's Theme Wall, "Love is an Open Book!"

In October, the library theme was Scare Your Pants Off featuring Halloween books. A contest was held to see who could guess the closest amount of tootsie rolls in the jar without going over and the winner would take home the candy. The correct number was 242. Our two winners for this month's contest are Taylor Hodges and Ayden Sanchez, both guessing 240.

In September, several books that have been banned over the years were displayed with the reason it was banned. One book was shredded and placed in a container and students could guess the title of the book.

Two names were drawn from the correct answers and received a $5 Sonic card.

The winners are:

EMS Winner left: Landri Foster

EHS Winner right: Rhyne Skinner