Digital Learning Standards


Frequently Asked Questions:

What are the NC Digital Learning Standards (DLS)?

North Carolina has adopted the International Society for Technology in Education’s student standards which will replace NC’s Information and Technology Essential Standards (ITES). These standards provide a framework for digital age learning, representing the “must have” skills that students need to be successful in the modern age.

What was the process North Carolina used to adopt the DLS?

In 2018, NCDPI and the Digital Teaching and Learning Division formed an Information and Technology Essential Standards Steering Committee. The committee consisted of digital teaching and learning experts from around the state who researched many different options for revising the 2010 ITES. Based on feedback from statewide surveys, focus groups, and statewide meetings, the committee recommended that the State Board of Education adopt the DLS.

Who contributed to this work?

The following educators contributed to this work through participation on the ITES Steering Committee and/or by assisting in the development of support resources for the DLS:

Becky Ayers, Pam Batchelor, Cathy Baum, Rebecca Belcastro, Krista Bond, Emma Braaten, Melinda Davanne Brigman, Teika Clavell, Nathan Craver, Jill Darrough, Melissa Davis, Dr. Carmella Fair, Melanie Farrell, Derrick Fogg, Julie Garber, Becky Goddard, Deborah Goodman, Fay Gore, Bitsy Griffin, Darcy Grimes, Cameron Gupton, Julie Gurganus, Mollee Holloman, Angela Jenkins, Donna Jessup, Sarah Justice, Kaley Kiffner, Wendy Kraft, Laura Long, Stacy Lovdahl, Kenny McKee, Cheryl Morris, Sam Morris, Donna Murray, Lisa Newberger, Danisha Norfleet, Kathy Parker, Gretchen Robinson, Jasmine Rockwell, Eric Saliim, Cynthia Sartain, Lindsey Sise, Jaclyn Bell Stevens, Xatoli Stox, Cindy Sturdivant, Lisa Thompson, Jenny Umbarger, and Dr. Vanessa Wrenn

When will the DLS be implemented?

The 2020-21 school year will be the official implementation year of the DLS. The 2019-20 school year is a planning year for the standards.

Who is responsible for teaching the DLS?

The DLS are intended to be integrated across content areas; therefore, all teachers are responsible for incorporating them in their instruction.

What is the purpose of the DLS?

The DLS provide a framework for the digital age skills students need to be college and career ready, particularly in the areas of digital citizenship, data privacy, cyber safety, inquiry and design thinking, etc.

Will DLS instruction require me to use specific tools and resources in my classroom?

No. The NCDPI does not endorse specific tools or companies. Because the standards focus on digital age skills, they allow for the use of a wide variety of tools and digital resources. Educators are encouraged to find multiple ways for students to demonstrate learning, and implementation decisions should be based on student characteristics and public school unit policies.

Do you have to be in a 1:1 computing environment to implement the digital learning standards?

No. While exposure to technology is required to implement the standards, these standards can be taught while using computer labs, mobile carts, or group instruction.

What is the review cycle for the DLS?

These standards will follow the typical North Carolina standard review cycle of every 5 - 7 years.

How do I know which standards I am supposed to teach for my grade and subject area?

North Carolina’s Digital Learning Standards are designed to be delivered by classroom teachers in all curricular areas and grade levels. Grade band indicators may be viewed at the link above when available.

If I do not see my question here, how can I ask?

Enter questions here. We will update the FAQ regularly to address any commonly submitted questions.