CTE courses provide quality educational programs emphasizing core academic content, Postsecondary & Workforce Readiness (PWR) competencies, technical skills, and seamless transition to further education or employment and better prepare students, including special populations to meet challenges of the workforce, economic development, and emerging occupations.

Colorado CTE programs are divided into six industry sectors:

1. Agriculture, Natural Resources & Energy

2. STEM, Arts, Design & Information Technology

3. Skilled Trades & Technical Sciences

4. Health Science, Criminal Justice & Public Safety

5. Hospitality, Human Services & Education

6. Business, Marketing & Public Administration

More than 5,000 community and business leaders serve on advisory committees and councils supporting CTE programs.


CTSOs help students build leadership skills, promote positive work values, and reinforce the CTE curriculum. Nine CTE student organizations include: DECA, FBLA, FCCLA, FFA, HOSA, PBL, (SC)2, SkillsUSA, and TSA. In 2017-2018, more than 32,000 students participated in CTE student organizations as state affiliated members.