West Mecklenburg High School

National Honor Society



The National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation's premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. More than just an honor roll, NHS serves to recognize those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, and character. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since its beginning in 1921.

Today, it is estimated that more than one million students participate in NHS activities. NHS chapters are found in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, many U.S. territories, and Canada. Chapter membership not only recognizes students for their accomplishments, but challenges them to develop further through active involvement in school activities and community service

Eligibility Requirements

Students who meet the requirements for membership outlined by their school’s chapter are eligible to be invited for membership by the organization during the spring semester.

Each chapter is required to publish its qualifications for membership, which is based on the four pillars of NHS:

  • Scholarship

Minimum unweighted GPA of 3.5 by the end of their Sophomore year. All members must MAINTAIN a GPA of no less than a 3.0 GPA

  • Service

This involves voluntary contributions made by a student to the school or community, done without compensation.

  • Leadership

Student leaders are those who are resourceful, good problem solvers, and idea contributors. Leadership experiences can be drawn from school or community activities while working with or for others.

  • Character

The student of good character is cooperative; demonstrates high standards of honesty and reliability; shows courtesy, concern, and respect for others; and generally maintains a clean disciplinary record.

Faculty Advisor Council

Chapter Advisors:

Executive Board/ Membership

Mrs. R. Dawkins (Rm 804) Rosalync.dawkins@cms.k12.nc.us

Activities/ Compliance

Ms. A. Burke (Rm 801) angela1.burke@cms.k12.nc.us

Communications Chair:

Dr. S.F. Snipes shaftinaf.snipes@cms.k12.nc.us

Service Coordinator:

Ms. Tracy Forst tracy.forst@cms.k12.nc.us

Leadership Chair/ Secretary

Ms. V. Soodoo verbennai.soodoo@cms.k12.nc.us