Dave Mao

Carnegie Institution of Washington

Geophysical Laboratory

5241 Broad Branch Road NW

Washington DC 20015-1305


  • Ph.D. (1968), M.S. (1966) University of Rochester, Rochester, N.Y., USA
  • B.S. (1963) National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan, Republic of China


  • 1972-present, Staff Scientist, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington
  • 1968-72, Postdoctoral Fellow and Research Associate, Geophysical Laboratory, CIW

Current Synergistic Activities

  • 2009-present, Director of Energy Frontier Research in Extreme environments (EFree) Center at GL
  • 2009-present, Visiting Professor, Global Center of Excellence, Tohoku University, Japan
  • 2007-present, Director of High Pressure Synergitic Center (HPSynC) at Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Laboratory, IL
  • 2005-present, Advisory Committee Chair, Institute of Earth Sciences, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
  • 2005-present, Einstein Professor of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • 2005-present, Guangbiao Chair Professor of Zhejiang University, China
  • 2003-present, Co-PI of Carnegie/DOE Alliance Center (CDAC)
  • 2001-present, Visiting Professor, Department of Geophysical Sciences and James Franck Institute, University of Chicago, IL
  • 2001-present, Hon. Director, National Research Center for High Pressure, Jilin University, China
  • 1998-present, Director of High Pressure Collaborative Access Team (HPCAT) at Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Laboratory, IL

Elected Memberships and Fellowships

  • Member of National Academy of Science, U.S.A. 1993 -
  • Member of Academia Sinica, Republic of China (Taiwan) 1994 -
  • Foreign Member of Chinese Academy of Sciences, People‚Äôs Republic of China, 1996 -
  • Foreign Member of the Royal Society of London, 2008 -
  • Geochemistry Fellow of Geochemical Society, 1996 -
  • Geochemistry Fellow of European Association for Geochemistry, 1996 -
  • Fellow of American Physical Society, 1994 -
  • Fellow of American Geophysical Union, 1987 -
  • Fellow of Mineralogical Society of America, 1979 -

Major Awards

  • Inge Lehmann Medal (2007) American Geophysical Union (Geophysics)
  • Balzan Prize (2005) International Balzan Foundation, Italy & Switzerland (Mineral Physics)
  • Gregori Aminoff Prize (2005) Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Sweden (Crystallography)
  • Roebling Medal (2005) Mineralogical Society of America, (Mineral Physics)
  • Arthur L. Day Prize (1990) National Academy of Sciences, USA (Geophysics)
  • P. W. Bridgman Award (1989) AIRAPT, International (High Pressure Science)
  • Mineralogical Society of America Award (1979) Mineralogical Society of America, (Mineralogy)