The Crown

The Crown is a historical drama television series, created and principally written by Peter Morgan and produced by Left Bank Pictures and Sony Pictures Television for Netflix. The show is a biographical story about the reign of Queen Elizabeth II of the United Kingdom. The first season covers the period from her marriage to Philip, Duke of Edinburgh in 1947 to the disintegration of her sister Princess Margaret's engagement to Peter Townsend in 1955. The second season covers the period from the Suez Crisis in 1956 to the retirement of the Queen's third Prime Minister, Harold Macmillan, in 1963 and the birth of Prince Edward in 1964. The third season will continue on from 1964, covering Harold Wilson's two terms as the Queen's Prime Minister until 1976, while the fourth season will see Margaret Thatcher's premiership and a focus on Diana, Princess of Wales.