Orono Speech Team

Interested in Joining Speech?

2020-21 KICK OFF MEETING (Oct. 6):

Contact us with questions:

Captains and Council:


Lexi Ostvig Jillian Dore


Mia Middleton Ava Blaufuss Lillian Riener Lucy Wersinger Sophie Bunkers Nova Tseng


Head Coach:

Barb Shofner

Assistant Coaches:

Nicolle Berg Steve Ruedisili Kirsten Pardun Johannsen Tex Ostvig Jenni Charrier Valerie Thies Jody Harmon Michael DiPrima
...and judge trainer/ judge placer/transportation coordinator - Deb Ludowese.

Traveling Team

These team members must have competed for at least one year, earned a school letter and have been recommended by the coaches.

Orono Minnesota State High School League Speech Team

Parents and Team Members,

Please keep in mind that our speakers who are competing in other in other MSHSL activities or school clubs or community events, are still allowed to compete on our team. We realize these speakers may not be able to compete in all of the tournaments. We accommodate varying schedules as long as these speakers’ desire to compete is sincere and their practices with coaches are consistent.

We are excited to say that on January 23rd, Orono will co-host with Mound Westonka our fourth annual Odyssey Speech Tournament. This year's tournament will be held online.