Sixth Grade

All of us are looking forward to our year together with your child. In this letter, there is some general information about how our team works. A daily class-time schedule is printed on the back. See your child’s individual schedule for what class occurs in each block of time. 

Our Team Leader is Bonnie Dill. Please contact her with general questions or concerns, to report vacations, to get help with Jupiter Ed (Jupiter Grades), or to share personal information that our team might need to know. For specific classroom/subject area questions or concerns, please contact the particular teacher of that class. 

Jupiter Grades: We use Jupiter Ed to communicate grades and to email you! If you need to update your email addresses or phone numbers, PLEASE go into the settings to do so. Let us know if you have questions about how to access/use Jupiter Grades. We encourage you to choose a setting that will send you a weekly update. In addition to the overview of current averages in each class, you can see the full grade book for each subject, with individual assignments and scores, by clicking on the name of each subject. We are happy to help you learn how to use this important tool effectively. Reach out if needed! Passwords will be sent home soon to each household. Students will create a student account at school, which is separate from your account. 

 Name     Position     Email Address Voice Mail Ext. #
 Christina Binette Math  cbinette@wocsd.org 3350
 Bonnie Dill Social Studies bdill@wocsd.org 3343
 Sarah Downs Language Arts sdowns@wocsd.org    3321
 Julie Howell Language Arts jhowell@wocsd.org 3378
 Noelle Nee Science nnee@wocsd.org 3347
 Gillian Ramsdell  Special Education gramsdell@wocsd.org 3344
 Alyse Trainor Math/Science atrainor@wocsd.org 3357
Dawn Valente Gifted/Talented Math dvalente@wocsd.org 3324

Click on the teacher's name to access their classroom website.   

For those of you that are learning remotely, contact information for those teachers will be sent to you.

Messages For Your Child: Cell phones are directed to be off/silenced from 8:30 -1:55. Receiving texts or
voicemails during the day is distracting for students. For urgent an message, call the main office, 646-5142, and
they will find your child to relay the message. Thanks for your help in keeping distractions to a minimum.

Absences: Call the office if your child will be absent, 646-5142. It is also important for a student to remind
each teacher that he/she has absent and for how many days. Thanks! We will do our best to bring him/her up to
speed as quickly as possible. If your student is out for more than two days, it may be a good idea to reach out
to the teacher to see if there is work that can be sent home electronically or picked up. This is assuming that
your child is well enough to do school work while resting at home. You would need to call the office to make
an arrangement to pick up work and let the teachers know before noon. A quick email is great way to handle
this situation. We will work with your child to get caught up and reduce any stress. Your support in this effort
is vital. Thank you.

Agendas: This is an assignment book provided to your child. We will be limiting homework to mostly
studying for a quiz or test or completing classwork that your child was unable to finish in school. Homework is
communicated to kids in writing and verbally, otherwise “NONE” should be written in. The agenda will go
home every night so that kids can remember what to do for homework and so that parents are informed.
Thanks for Your Support and Keep in Touch! 

The Sixth Grade Team