Welcome to the website of the Hanover High School Council! 
The Council was founded in during the 1973/74 school year and was endorsed in 1977 by the Dresden School Board. Currently, it is made up of over 40 students, staff and community members. The Council is one of three governmental bodies that make decisions at the high school. For more information about Council's operation, please go to the 'Downloads' page to view the latest version of the Council bylaws or click here

Otherwise, this website is a resource for committee information, member information, important documents and lists of motions that have recently been either passed or failed by Council. Please feel free to explore this website, and if you have any comments, suggestions or the like, please see the 'Contact' page to let us know.

Council currently meets in the combined Murray/Tindall classroom from 10:15-11:00 on Wednesdays.

2014-2015 Council Leadership

Kelsey Smith ('15) - Moderator
Max Greenwald ('15) - Assistant Moderator
Tobias Reynolds ('15) - Treasurer
Ben Chaimberg ('15) - Secretary
Ethan Gorman ('15) - Public Relations Person

  • Agenda 4/22/15 & Minutes 4/8/15

    Agenda 4/22/15

    1. Approval of Minutes

    2. Reports

    3. TBD

    4. Notes & New Business

    “Find your voice and inspire others to find theirs.”

    — Stephen Covey

    Council Minutes 4/8/15

    1. Approval of Minutes

    2. Reports

      • (Mod): Tom Hanlon Cup nominations.

      • (A-Mod): Reminder that missing Council for academic reasons does not count as an excused absence. Teachers should not be scheduling anything during the Council meeting period.

      • (Sec): Sophomore alternate can vote.

      • (DSB): Board will vote on AIP revisions on 4/22.

      • (SA): Club budgets will be finalized a week 4/10.

      • (OEC): Planned election announcement.

      • (Curric): Continued work on course concern.

      • (Admin): Worked on Principal Motion Response Bylaw Revision.

      • (SL): Reworked Political Poster Motion.

      • (RJ): Discussed response to DSB presentation.

      • (Condom): Met with Mr. Campbell and nurse to discuss implementation.

    3. Microfinance Funds Allocation

    4. Political Poster Motion

      • Motion to prohibit the display of political posters by the school.

      • https://docs.google.com/a/hanovernorwichschools.org/document/d/1nj57eGoOufLdP12CUaoXO5J-IJq0DE4BDsjXoWrA8Pc/preview for full motion details and supporting material.

      • Motion to amend the motion to read: “prohibit the display of political campaign materials in any non-personal location in the school, except those specifically designated for that purpose. This does not include any political campaign materials used for educational purposes.”

      • This clarifies the wording and allows for a space that is exclusively used for expressing everyone’s views to be installed in the future.

      • Motion to amend the amendment to append: “or for Council elections.”

      • Need to make sure that we don’t contradict our bylaws.

      • Amendment to the amendment passes.

      • Amendment passes.

      • We need so make sure that political discussion is free and open.

      • This serves everyone’s needs and can solve a future issue.

      • Since this was brought to Council, it is an issue and needs to be addressed.

      • Motion passes.

    Meeting adjourns.

    Posted Apr 9, 2015, 4:44 PM by HHS Council
Showing posts 1 - 1 of 35. View more »

Maintained by Max Greenwald, Assistant Moderator, and Ben Chaimberg, Secretary.
Please contact us with any questions or comments.